Further studySource-checked · reviewed 31 Oct 20267 sources cited
NEET UG admission to MBBS, BDS and AYUSH degrees
Look at how admission to MBBS, BDS and the AYUSH degrees works through NEET (UG): NTA's 2026 bulletin, MCC's all-India counselling and the AYUSH counselling committee's rules, with the fees and conditions each prints.
At a glance
- For youChoose a qualificationChoose your degree on the Explore page to see what the sources say for you.
- Cost8 sourcedThe NEET (UG) 2026 application fee for the General category at a centre in India was Rs 1700.
- StipendNot applicableStudy route, so no salary. A stipend appears only where a source states it.
- Timetable3 sourcedThe NTA home page lists a notice titled 'Conduct of Re-examination for National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test [NEET (UG)] 2026'.
- Admission12 sourcedA candidate must have completed 17 years of age on or before 31 December of the year of appearing in NEET-UG.
Checked 31 Oct 2026 · 7 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026
Cost, pay and hours
- 1Extra cost8 sourced
- The NEET (UG) 2026 application fee for the General category at a centre in India was Rs 1700.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- NEET (UG) 2026 examination fee, General category, centre in India
- excludes Processing charges and GST chargeable by the bank/payment gateway in addition
- fee not refunded once deposited
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- NEET (UG) 2026 application fee for an exam centre in India, as printed in the 'Fee payable for NEET (UG) 2026' table on printed page 2.
- A single figure of 9500/- for centres outside India is printed beside the General row;.
- The bulletin's closing date was 08 March 2026 (extended to 11 March 2026)
- the 2026 application window is closed.
- The NEET (UG) 2026 application fee for General-EWS and OBC-NCL candidates at a centre in India was Rs 1600.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- NEET (UG) 2026 examination fee, General-EWS / OBC-NCL, centre in India
- excludes Processing charges and GST chargeable by the bank/payment gateway in addition
- fee not refunded once deposited
Note:Only the OBC-NCL (Non-Creamy Layer, Central List) category gets this fee, per the bulletin's footnote.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- NEET (UG) 2026 application fee for an exam centre in India, as printed in the 'Fee payable for NEET (UG) 2026' table on printed page 2.
- A single figure of 9500/- for centres outside India is printed beside the General row;.
Show 6 moreShow fewer
- The NEET (UG) 2026 application fee for SC, ST, PwBD, PwD and Third Gender candidates at a centre in India was Rs 1000.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- NEET (UG) 2026 examination fee, SC/ST/PwBD/PwD/Third Gender, centre in India
- excludes Processing charges and GST chargeable by the bank/payment gateway in addition
- fee not refunded once deposited
Note:No separate women-candidate fee is printed in the table.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- NEET (UG) 2026 application fee for an exam centre in India, as printed in the 'Fee payable for NEET (UG) 2026' table on printed page 2.
- A single figure of 9500/- for centres outside India is printed beside the General row;.
- For 15% AIQ, central universities, AFMC/ESI, AIIMS, JIPMER and B.Sc. Nursing counselling, the non-refundable registration fee was Rs 1000 for UR/EWS and Rs 500 for SC/ST/OBC/PwD candidates.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- MCC UG counselling registration, 15% AIQ / central universities / AFMC & ESI / AIIMS / JIPMER / B.Sc. Nursing
- excludes Refundable security deposit (separate finding)
- not refundable
- state-quota counselling fees
Note:Does not cover tuition fees of the allotted college, which MCC says vary by institute.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- MCC NEET-UG counselling 2026, revised bulletin dated 20.08.2026.
- Counselling fee for seat allotment, not an exam fee.
- The refundable security amount was Rs 10,000 for UR/EWS and Rs 5,000 for SC/ST/OBC/PwD candidates for the same counselling types.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- Refundable security deposit at MCC UG registration (15% AIQ / central universities etc.)
- excludes Forfeited if a seat from Round 2 onward is not joined
- no interest paid
Note:Does not say the deposit is returned in every case; the bulletin lists forfeiture conditions.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:MCC NEET-UG counselling 2026, revised bulletin dated 20.08.2026. - For deemed universities, the non-refundable registration fee was Rs 5000 and the refundable security amount Rs 2,00,000, the same for all candidates.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- MCC UG counselling registration for deemed universities
- excludes Tuition and other college fees
Note:Does not give tuition fees of any deemed university.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:MCC NEET-UG counselling 2026, revised bulletin dated 20.08.2026. - For AIQ government/aided, central university/national institute seats, UR/EWS/OBC-NCL candidates paid Rs 1,000 non-refundable registration fee plus Rs 20,000 refundable security money.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- AACCC-UG counselling registration, AIQ-Govt./Govt. Aided/CU/NI, UR/EWS/OBC-NCL
- excludes Security money refundable only per the bulletin conditions
- college tuition not covered
Note:Does not cover tuition fees of Ayush colleges.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:AACCC UG 2026-27. Worked example from the FAQ;. - For the same seat types, SC/ST/PwBD candidates paid Rs 500 non-refundable registration fee plus Rs 20,000 refundable security money.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- AACCC-UG counselling registration, AIQ-Govt./Govt. Aided/CU/NI, SC/ST/PwBD
- excludes College tuition
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:AACCC UG 2026-27. Worked example.
- The NEET (UG) 2026 application fee for the General category at a centre in India was Rs 1700.Basis:
- 2PayNot establishedThis is a study route, so there is no salary.A stipend or fee waiver appears only where a source states it.Have a source? Tell us
- 3Timetable & attendance3 sourced
- The NTA home page lists a notice titled 'Conduct of Re-examination for National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test [NEET (UG)] 2026'.Note:Does not state the reason for the re-examination.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:2026 cycle. Only the notice title was read;. - The NTA home page lists a fee-refund notice for the NEET (UG) 2026 exam held on 03 May 2026.Note:Does not say who was refunded, or how much.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:2026 cycle. Title only;.
Show 1 moreShow fewer
- MCC's UG counselling page lists a 'Special stray vacancy round for MBBS and 5th round of BDS/B.Sc Nursing 2026', beyond the four rounds in the bulletin.Note:Does not give the dates of that round.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:2026 counselling, still in progress on 31 October 2026. Title only;.
- The NTA home page lists a notice titled 'Conduct of Re-examination for National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test [NEET (UG)] 2026'.
Reality check
The work
- NEET (UG) 2026 was 180 compulsory questions in Physics, Chemistry and Biology to be attempted in 180 minutes, planned as a single-day, single-shift, pen-and-paper exam.
- NTA says MCC counsels for MBBS and BDS and AACCC for the AYUSH degrees.
- These pages do not describe the study or what graduates go on to do.
Entry requirements
- NEET (UG) asks for Class 12 with Physics, Chemistry and Biology or Biotechnology along with English, the candidate 17 years old by 31 December, and no upper age limit.
- The bulletin also lists a B.Sc. with at least two of Physics, Chemistry and Biology as a qualifying route.
- To qualify for the MBBS-type courses, General and General-EWS candidates need the 50th percentile and SC, ST and OBC candidates the 40th.
- BUMS also asks for Urdu, Arabic or Persian at Class 10.
Show 1 moreShow fewer
- The NMC's own eligibility text could not be read, so the Class 12 minimum-marks rule is not established here.
Trade-offs to consider
- NTA's home page lists a notice for a re-examination of NEET (UG) 2026 and a fee-refund notice for the exam held on 3 May 2026, and states it conducted the exam on 21 June 2026.
- A score is not a seat: MCC runs four rounds of all-India counselling and a stray vacancy round, counselling charges a non-refundable registration fee and a refundable security amount, and AACCC registers only candidates who qualified in NEET (UG) 2026.
Skills & employers
Skills to investigate
- Physics, Chemistry and Biology
- Entrance test preparation
Institutions named in sourcesNone recorded.
Study or credential needed
- NEET (UG) 2026 was the entrance test for admission to MBBS, BDS, BAMS, BUMS, BSMS and BHMS courses.Note:Does not say which seats a particular rank will get; seat allotment is by counselling authorities.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- NEET (UG) 2026 cycle, information bulletin uploaded February 2026.
- The test is the route into these six degrees; it is not a degree itself.
- The bulletin says admission to all seats of BAMS, BSMS, BUMS and BHMS is done through NEET (UG) 2026.Note:Does not cover institutions or seats outside the categories the bulletin lists.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NEET (UG) 2026 cycle. Mandatory for these four degrees according to this bulletin.
How admission works
- A candidate must have completed 17 years of age on or before 31 December of the year of appearing in NEET-UG.Names: MBBS, BDSSource: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not give the birth-date cut-off in a form read reliably here.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NEET (UG) 2026. The bulletin attributes this to the Graduate Medical Education Regulations 2023 (Amendment) dated 16.06.2023. - The bulletin states that there is no upper age limit for NEET (UG).Source: National Testing Agency ↗
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NEET (UG) 2026, citing NMC UGMEB letters dated 09 March 2022 and 13.01.2026. - The Class 12 route to NEET (UG) needs the requisite subjects Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology along with English, which may be studied even as additional subjects after Class 12.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:This text sets subjects, not a minimum Class 12 percentage;.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NEET (UG) 2026. 'CODE: 02' row of the bulletin's table of qualifying examinations.
Show 9 moreShow fewer
- The bulletin lists the Intermediate/Pre-degree Examination in Science with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English as a qualifying examination.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not by itself say which boards count as equivalent in a given state.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NEET (UG) 2026. One of several alternative qualifying examinations. - A B.Sc. examination of an Indian University is listed as qualifying if the candidate passed it with not less than two of Physics, Chemistry, Biology (Botany, Zoology)/Biotechnology and had earlier passed the qualifying examination with Physics, Chemistry, Biology and English.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not say that a B.Sc. holder can skip the Class 12 subject requirement.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- NEET (UG) 2026. BSC is named only as an alternative qualifying examination alongside Class 12
- it also requires the earlier Class 12 subjects.
- A candidate whose Class 12 result is awaited may apply and appear, but is not eligible for admission if the qualifying examination is not passed by the first round of counselling.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not say what the first-round date is.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NEET (UG) 2026. - For BAMS, BSMS, BUMS and BHMS, candidates shall have passed 10+2 or equivalent with Physics, Chemistry and Biology or Biotechnology.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:This item does not mention English.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- NEET (UG) 2026, AYUSH degrees.
- The same item sets the age rule: seventeen years on or before 31 December of the year of admission into the first year.
- For BUMS, the candidate must have passed the 10th standard with Urdu, Arabic or Persian as a subject, or clear the Urdu test of 10th standard where such a test exists.Names: BUMSSource: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not say how the language test is conducted.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NEET (UG) 2026. The same sub-item sets a Tamil requirement for BSMS (passed Tamil as one of the subjects in the 10th standard or higher secondary course, or study Tamil in the first professional course). - Names: MBBS, BDSSource: National Testing Agency ↗
- To qualify for admission to MBBS-type undergraduate medical courses, General and General-EWS candidates must score at the 50th percentile in NEET (UG)
- SC, ST and OBC candidates at the 40th percentile.
Not established:This is a percentile of the exam, not a mark figure;.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- NEET (UG) 2026. The same item gives the 45th percentile (General and General-EWS) and 40th percentile (SC/ST/OBC-NCL) for candidates with benchmark disabilities, and says the Central Government may lower these for a year.
- The bulletin gives the same 50th/40th/45th percentile rule for BAMS, BSMS, BUMS and BHMS on printed page 42.
- Processing charges and GST are charged on top of the examination fee by the bank or payment gateway.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not give the rupee amount of the processing charge here.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NEET (UG) 2026. The bulletin's appendix on online payment gives per-mode charge schedules;. - The examination fee once deposited is not refunded and is not carried forward to a future examination.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not say a refund is impossible when NTA itself cancels an exam.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- NEET (UG) 2026 bulletin text.
- A later NTA page title shows a separate refund process for the exam held on 03 May 2026.
- Only NEET (UG) 2026 qualified candidates are eligible to register for AACCC-UG counselling.Names: BAMS, BSMS, BUMS, BHMSSource: Ayush Admissions Central Counseling Committee (AACCC), Ministry of Ayush / NCISM ↗Not established:Does not set a qualifying percentile (the NTA bulletin does).
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:AACCC UG counselling 2026-27.
The work and what comes next
The work, from the sources
- The test pattern was 180 compulsory questions in Physics, Chemistry and Biology (Botany and Zoology), to be attempted in 180 minutes.Source: National Testing Agency ↗
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NEET (UG) 2026 bulletin, citing NMC letter dated 05.12.2025. - NEET (UG) 2026 was planned as a single-day, single-shift exam in pen-and-paper mode.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not say the mode of any future cycle.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Bulletin plan for the 03 May 2026 date.
- The 03 May exam was later cancelled and re-held on 21 June 2026.
Show 2 moreShow fewer
- NTA states it conducted NEET (UG) 2026 on 21 June 2026.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not describe the earlier 03 May exam.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- 2026 cycle. The notice does not itself say why the date differed from the 03 May 2026 date in the bulletin
- the NTA home page lists a 'Conduct of Re-examination' notice.
- NTA's result press release says close to 20 lakh candidates appeared and 11.21 lakh qualified, and the exam was conducted in 13 languages.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Exam held 21 June 2026 (the re-examination).
- Figures are as printed by NTA for that sitting.
- Does not say how many seats exist or what proportion of qualified candidates get a seat
- a qualifying score is not a seat.
What can come next
- NTA says MCC (of the Directorate General of Health Services) conducts online counselling for MBBS and BDS and runs counselling for AIQ seats, AIIMS, JIPMER, central universities and deemed universities.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not cover state-quota counselling, which is run by each state.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NEET (UG) 2026 bulletin. - NTA names AACCC as the counselling authority for all-India-quota seats of BAMS, BUMS and BSMS (under NCISM) and, separately, BHMS (under NCH).Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not say AACCC handles state-quota seats.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NEET (UG) 2026 bulletin. Private AYUSH institute seats and state-quota seats are handled by other authorities, per printed page 42.
Show 1 moreShow fewer
- MCC runs four rounds of AIQ counselling: Round 1, 2, 3 and a stray vacancy round.Source: Medical Counselling Committee (MCC), DGHS, MoHFW ↗Not established:Does not cover state-quota rounds.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:MCC NEET-UG counselling 2026, revised bulletin dated 20.08.2026.
Sources and unanswered questions
- NTA, MCC and AACCC documents for the 2026 cycle, checked on 31 October 2026 · India · the 2026 cycle is closed and no 2027 bulletin was out; NMC's eligibility regulations could not be read.
- Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
- Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
- Information Bulletin NEET (UG)-2026 ↗National Testing Agency · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not say which seats a particular rank will get; seat allotment is by counselling authorities.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- NEET (UG) 2026 cycle, information bulletin uploaded February 2026.
- The test is the route into these six degrees; it is not a degree itself.
- Public Notice dated 20th July 2026 (fabricated OMR sheets and score cards, NEET (UG) 2026) ↗National Testing Agency · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not describe the earlier 03 May exam.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- 2026 cycle. The notice does not itself say why the date differed from the 03 May 2026 date in the bulletin
- the NTA home page lists a 'Conduct of Re-examination' notice.
- Press Release: NTA Declares Result of NEET (UG) 2026 ↗National Testing Agency · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Exam held 21 June 2026 (the re-examination).
- Figures are as printed by NTA for that sitting.
- Does not say how many seats exist or what proportion of qualified candidates get a seat
- a qualifying score is not a seat.
- National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (home page, public notices list) ↗National Testing Agency · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not state the reason for the re-examination.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:2026 cycle. Only the notice title was read;. - Revised UG Counselling 2026 Information Bulletin dated 20.08.2026 (NEET-UG MBBS/BDS/B.Sc. Nursing Counselling Scheme) ↗Medical Counselling Committee (MCC), DGHS, MoHFW · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not cover tuition fees of the allotted college, which MCC says vary by institute.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- MCC NEET-UG counselling 2026, revised bulletin dated 20.08.2026.
- Counselling fee for seat allotment, not an exam fee.
- UG Medical Counselling (MCC home for UG) ↗Medical Counselling Committee (MCC), DGHS, MoHFW · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not give the dates of that round.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:2026 counselling, still in progress on 31 October 2026. Title only;. - Information Bulletin AACCC UG 2026-27 ↗Ayush Admissions Central Counseling Committee (AACCC), Ministry of Ayush / NCISM · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not set a qualifying percentile (the NTA bulletin does).Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:AACCC UG counselling 2026-27.
Your next step: Read NTA's current bulletin for the age, subject and percentile rules, then MCC's or AACCC's counselling bulletin for the fees and rounds of the seats you want.
Keep reading
A source names these qualifications for this profile: MBBS · Medicine, BHMS · Homoeopathy, BAMS · Ayurveda, BUMS · Unani, BSMS · Siddha, BDS · Dentistry