Role to investigateSource-checked · reviewed 31 Oct 20266 sources cited
PSU engineer trainee posts through GATE
Investigate engineer trainee posts in public-sector companies through GATE: POWERGRID, GAIL, Indian Oil and ONGC notices and NTPC's portal listing, with the branches, minimum marks, pay scales and service bonds each prints.
At a glance
- For youChoose a qualificationChoose your degree on the Explore page to see what the sources say for you.
- Cost2 sourcedPOWERGRID charges a non-refundable application fee of Rs. 500 (online), and exempts SC/ST/PwBD/Ex-SM/Departmental candidates…
- Pay6 sourcedDuring the one-year training period selected candidates are placed in the pay scale Rs.40,000/- 3% - 1,40,000 (IDA).
- Hours3 sourcedVacancies are all over the country, mostly at on-site locations, and selected candidates are liable to be posted anywhere…
- Employers ask24 sourcedPOWERGRID lists Engineer Trainee as an opening for the 2027 batch, recruited through GATE 2027 scores, in Electrical, Civil…
Checked 31 Oct 2026 · 6 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026
Cost, pay and hours
- 1Extra cost2 sourced
- POWERGRID charges a non-refundable application fee of Rs. 500 (online), and exempts SC/ST/PwBD/Ex-SM/Departmental candidates
- it is paid when the POWERGRID application window opens (expected March/April 2027), separately from the GATE fee.
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- POWERGRID application fee (non-refundable)
- excludes GATE 2027 registration fee
- exempt: SC/ST/PwBD/Ex-SM/Departmental candidates
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:Engineer Trainee-2027 (tentative; the later detailed notification may differ).- The notice prints a single fee amount and an exemption list
- it does not print separate General/OBC/EWS amounts.
- There was no application fee for this selection process.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- IOCL application
- excludes GATE exam fee
Note:GATE's own exam fee is separate and not covered.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE 2024 cycle (closed).
- 2Pay6 sourced
- During the one-year training period selected candidates are placed in the pay scale Rs.40,000/- 3% - 1,40,000 (IDA).Basis:
- Indian rupees
- per month
- basic pay scale during one-year training
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Engineer Trainee-2027, during training.
- Basic pay Rs. 40,000/- is also stated in the same paragraph.
- Does not state take-home pay; IDA, HRA and perks are paid on top and vary by location.
- Excludes IDA, HRA, perks and other allowances.
- After successful training, trainees are absorbed as Engineer in the E2 scale Rs. 50,000/- 3%- 1,60,000/- (IDA).Basis:
- Indian rupees
- per month
- E2 scale on absorption
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:Engineer Trainee-2027, after training.- Does not state the pay actually drawn in any year.
- Excludes IDA and other allowances.
Show 4 moreShow fewer
- GAIL places selected Executive Trainees at basic pay Rs.60,000 in the scale Rs.60,000 - 1,80,000 during one-year training cum probation in E-2 grade.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- per month
- basic pay scale during one-year training cum probation
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE-2026 cycle, E-2 grade.- Does not include VDA, variable pay or perks.
- Excludes VDA, performance-related pay, cafeteria perks and other allowances.
- Selected Engineers/Officers received a starting basic pay of Rs. 50,000 per month in the scale Rs.50,000 - 1,60,000, plus DA and other allowances.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- per month
- starting basic pay and scale
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE 2024 cycle (closed); Engineers/Officers.- Gross valuation "approx. Rs.17.32 Lacs per annum" is printed by IOCL for that cycle but is an employer estimate including PRP and varies by posting.
- Excludes DA, HRA, other allowances and Performance Related Pay.
- Graduate Apprentice Engineers received a fixed monthly stipend of Rs.60,000 for the duration of apprenticeship.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- per month
- stipend for apprenticeship
Note:Not the Engineer/Officer route.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE 2024 cycle (closed); GAE route only. - ONGC listed E1 basic pay scale as 60,000 – 1,80,000/- with allowances at 35% of basic pay under cafeteria approach and other benefits.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- per month
- E1 basic pay scale
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Advt. No. 1/2024 (R&P), E1 level (closed cycle).
- The same page states a CTC "approximately INR 24 Lacs at E1 level" as the employer's own figure.
- Employer approximate CTC; allowances vary.
- Excludes allowances at 35% of basic, DA, HRA, PRP and other benefits.
- During the one-year training period selected candidates are placed in the pay scale Rs.40,000/- 3% - 1,40,000 (IDA).Basis:
- 3Shifts & hours3 sourced
- Vacancies are all over the country, mostly at on-site locations, and selected candidates are liable to be posted anywhere in India and abroad.Note:Does not state working hours, shift pattern or on-call duty.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:Engineer Trainee-2027. - The 2027 notice leaves selection process, vacancies and reservation to a later notification and gives the application window only as tentative (March/April 2027).Note:Weightage and interview stages for the 2027 batch are not yet published.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:POWERGRID Advt. No. CC/03/2026.
Show 1 moreShow fewer
- GAIL may assign selected trainees jobs as per business requirements, including shift operations.Note:Does not state hours, number of shifts or which discipline works shifts.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE-2026 cycle; trainees and after absorption.
- Vacancies are all over the country, mostly at on-site locations, and selected candidates are liable to be posted anywhere in India and abroad.
Reality check
The work
- POWERGRID describes grid construction and operation roles (line survey, tower erection, protection testing, substation charging) and training at the POWERGRID Academy of Leadership.
- GAIL says trainees may be given jobs as per business requirements, including shift operations, and Indian Oil postings can be to any place in India across refineries, marketing, pipelines and business development.
Entry requirements
- These notices ask for a full-time engineering degree in a listed branch with minimum marks and a valid GATE score in the matching paper, and only the score of the named GATE year counts.
- Minimum marks were 60% at POWERGRID, 65% (60% for SC, ST and PwBD) at GAIL and 65% (55%) at Indian Oil in 2024.
- The upper age limit was 28 at POWERGRID, as on 31 March 2027, and 26 at GAIL and Indian Oil.
- POWERGRID and GAIL accept B.Sc (Engg.), and Indian Oil excludes combined or integrated disciplines such as Mechatronics.
Trade-offs to consider
- POWERGRID's selected candidates must sign a service agreement bond to serve at least three years, INR 5,00,000 for General, OBC(NCL) and EWS and INR 2,50,000 for SC, ST and PwBD, and may be posted anywhere in India and abroad.
- Selection by GATE is not universal: the Indian Oil notice read used GATE-2024 scores and the ONGC notice GATE-2023 scores, and both are closed.
- Not established: whether they still hire through GATE, and NTPC's terms.
Skills & employers
Skills to investigate
- Engineering fundamentals
- GATE preparation
Employers named in sources
- Power Grid Corporation of India Limited
- NTPC Limited
- GAIL (India) Limited
- Indian Oil Corporation Limited
- Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited
Study or credential neededNot established. Required versus optional credentials must be checked for the specific employer or programme.
What employers ask for
- POWERGRID lists Engineer Trainee as an opening for the 2027 batch, recruited through GATE 2027 scores, in Electrical, Civil, Computer Science and Electronics.Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗Not established:Does not give vacancy numbers or reservation; the notice says these will be in a later notification.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- POWERGRID Advt. No. CC/03/2026 dated 24.09.2026 (first, pre-GATE advertisement for the 2027 batch).
- The application window is tentative (March/April 2027).
- POWERGRID names a full-time B.E./B.Tech/B.Sc (Engg.) degree with minimum 60% marks or equivalent CGPA as the essential qualification for Engineer Trainee.Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗Not established:Does not state marks for SC/ST/PwBD beyond saying the minimum is relaxed to pass marks for posts reserved for them, as per a later detailed advertisement.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:Engineer Trainee-2027. The marks cell in the same table reads "Minimum 60% or Equivalent CGPA". - For Engineer Trainee (Electrical) POWERGRID lists the branches Electrical, Electrical (Power), Electrical and Electronics, Power Systems Engineering and Power Engineering (Electrical).Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗Not established:Branches not listed are excluded unless POWERGRID decides otherwise.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:Engineer Trainee-2027. The qualification table lists branches by post: Electrical, Electronics, Civil and Computer Science.
Show 21 moreShow fewer
- For Engineer Trainee (Electronics) POWERGRID lists Electronics, Electronics & Communication, Electronics & Telecommunication, Electronics & Electrical Communication and Telecommunication Engg.Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗Not established:Branches not listed are excluded unless POWERGRID decides otherwise.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:Engineer Trainee-2027; assigned by column header as above. - Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗
- For Engineer Trainee (Computer Science) POWERGRID lists Computer Science, Computer Engg. and Information Technology
- for Civil it lists Civil Engineering.
Not established:Branches not listed are excluded unless POWERGRID decides otherwise.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Engineer Trainee-2027; assigned by column header as above.
- The Civil column reads "Civil Engineering".
- POWERGRID excludes degrees from disciplines other than those it lists, while reserving the right to treat a different engineering discipline as eligible.Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗Not established:Does not list the excluded branches;.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:Engineer Trainee-2027. - Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗
- A valid, qualifying score in the matching GATE 2027 paper is mandatory: EE for Electrical, CE for Civil, CS for Computer Science, EC for Electronics
- the qualifying marks are as declared by the GATE organising body.
Not established:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:POWERGRID Engineer Trainee-2027 only; GATE 2027 score only.- Does not give POWERGRID's own shortlisting cut-off
- the selection process is said to be notified later.
- The upper age limit is 28 years as on 31.03.2027, with printed relaxations (for example 3 years for OBC(NCL) and 5 years for SC/ST) for posts reserved for those categories.Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:Engineer Trainee-2027.- Relaxations apply only to posts reserved for the category
- the notice does not state how many posts are reserved.
- GAIL recruited Executive Trainees (E-2 grade) in Chemical, Instrumentation, Electrical and Mechanical engineering using GATE-2026 marks.Names: B.TechSource: GAIL (India) Limited ↗
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Advt. No. GAIL/OPEN/ET/2/2025; application window 17.02.2026 to 18.03.2026, now closed.
- A GATE-2027 first advertisement is out.
- Names: B.TechSource: GAIL (India) Limited ↗
- GAIL's Executive Trainee posts require a Bachelor degree in Engineering in a listed branch with minimum 65% marks
- the Mechanical post lists Mechanical, Production, Production & Industrial, Manufacturing, Mechanical & Automobile.
Not established:Branch lists differ per post; only the Mechanical row is quoted.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE-2026 cycle (closed). - GAIL accepts the engineering degree as B.E., B.Tech or B.Sc Engg., and excludes branches not listed.Names: B.TechSource: GAIL (India) Limited ↗Not established:Does not accept degrees outside the listed branches: "Candidates having Engineering Degree in a branch / discipline other than as specified above are not eligible to apply.".
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE-2026 cycle (closed). - GAIL fixes the minimum marks at 65% for General, EWS and OBC (NCL) and 60% for SC/ST/PwBD candidates who completed the degree in 2025.Names: B.TechSource: GAIL (India) Limited ↗Not established:Relaxation applies only to posts reserved for SC/ST/PwBD (point 2).
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- GATE-2026 cycle; candidates who completed the degree in 2025.
- The sentence runs across a page break; the 65% for General, EWS and OBC (NCL) is in the same point.
- The upper age limit was 26 years as on 18.03.2026 for Executive Trainees in all disciplines.Names: B.TechSource: GAIL (India) Limited ↗Not established:Reserved-category relaxations are in Table-II of the notice and are not recorded here.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE-2026 cycle (closed). - Names: B.TechSource: GAIL (India) Limited ↗
- Only the GATE-2026 marks counted for this recruitment; marks of 2025 or earlier were not valid.
- The matching papers are CH, IN, EE and ME.
Not established:Does not state GAIL's GATE cut-off.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE-2026 cycle (closed). - GAIL has issued a first advertisement for Executive Trainees through GATE-2027 (Chemical, Electrical, Instrumentation, Mechanical) and says it will publish a subsequent advertisement in February 2027 with the application window.Names: B.TechSource: GAIL (India) Limited ↗Not established:see the GATE-2026 advertisement for the pay scale.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE-2027 cycle; first (pre-GATE) advertisement. - Names: B.TechSource: GAIL (India) Limited ↗
- For the GATE-2027 cycle GAIL says candidates who completed the engineering degree in 2025 or earlier are not eligible
- 2026 graduates and final-year (2026-27) students may apply.
Not established:Final-year candidates still need the minimum marks at selection (point 2.12).Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE-2027 cycle. - Indian Oil recruited Engineers/Officers through GATE-2024 in eight disciplines (Chemical, Civil, CS/IT, Electrical, Electronics & Communication, Instrumentation, Mechanical, Metallurgical).Names: B.TechSource: Indian Oil Corporation Limited ↗Not established:Does not show that IOCL will advertise through GATE again.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Advt. No. DP/5/5/Open (GATE 2024) dated 11 June 2024; last date 1 July 2024.
- CLOSED, and not the latest IOCL engineer recruitment.
- IOCL excludes candidates with BE/B.Tech in combined or integrated disciplines such as Mechatronics or Robotics.Names: B.TechSource: Indian Oil Corporation Limited ↗Not established:Applies to this cycle only.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE 2024 cycle (closed). Sentence: "Candidates pursuing/completed their graduation (BE/B.Tech) in combined/ integrated disciplines/ inter-disciplinary subjects like Mechatronics/ Robotics etc. will not be eligible.". - Minimum marks in the qualifying degree were 65.00% for General, EWS and OBC(NCL), and 55.00% for SC, ST and PwBD.Names: B.TechSource: Indian Oil Corporation Limited ↗Not established:Does not set a GATE cut-off.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE 2024 cycle (closed). The notice says rounding off is not allowed (FAQ f). - The upper age limit for General/EWS candidates was 26 years as on 30 June 2024.Names: B.TechSource: Indian Oil Corporation Limited ↗Not established:Not a current cycle.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE 2024 cycle (closed). Other category cut-off dates are tabulated in the notice. - Selection used GATE 2024 marks, a Group Discussion and Group Task, and a Personal Interview.Names: B.TechSource: Indian Oil Corporation Limited ↗Not established:Weightages are not quoted here.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE 2024 cycle (closed). - ONGC recruited Graduate Trainees at E1 level (Class I executive) in Engineering and Geo-Sciences through GATE-2023 scores, Advt. No. 1/2024 (R&P).Names: B.TechSource: Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited ↗Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Advt. No. 1/2024 (R&P); online registration 29/02/2024 to 06/03/2024. CLOSED, an older cycle.
- This is the most recent GATE-based ONGC notice found.
- read only through a summary, not quoted) listed Advt.
- No. 1/2025 (R&P) and 2/2026 (R&P) E1 recruitments as CBT-based. Not used as a finding.
- Candidates selected as AEE (Electrical) must produce a Certificate of Competency as Electrical Supervisor (CCES) within 2 years of joining ONGC.Names: B.TechSource: Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited ↗Not established:Applies to the Electrical post only.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:AEE (Electrical) in the 2024 notice. - NTPC's recruitment portal lists a notice "Recruitment of Engineering Executive Trainees-2027 through GATE-2027" against Ad-11/26 (posted 2026-08-14).Names: B.TechSource: NTPC Limited ↗Not established:Does not give any eligibility, fee or pay for the 2027 cycle.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NTPC Ad-11/26.
The work and what comes next
The work, from the sources
- The employer describes the work as grid construction and operation roles (line survey, tower erection, protection testing, substation charging) and training at the POWERGRID Academy of Leadership.Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:promotional text. - Postings can be to any place in India across Refineries, Marketing, Pipelines and Business Development divisions.Names: B.TechSource: Indian Oil Corporation Limited ↗Not established:Does not state hours or shifts.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE 2024 cycle (closed).
What can come next
- Selected candidates must sign a service agreement bond to serve at least three years: INR 5,00,000 for General/OBC(NCL)/EWS and INR 2,50,000 for SC/ST/PwBD.Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗Not established:Does not say what happens on breach beyond the bond amount.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:Engineer Trainee-2027. - Candidates may be posted at the management's discretion to company offices, subsidiaries, JVs or other government bodies anywhere in India or abroad.Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗Not established:Does not say how often posting changes.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:Engineer Trainee-2027.
Show 2 moreShow fewer
- POWERGRID says job rotation and planned development carry people from the first posting to senior leadership, which it has grown from within.Names: B.TechSource: Power Grid Corporation of India Limited ↗Not established:Does not give promotion timelines or numbers.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:Employer's own statement. - During training and after absorption, candidates may be posted at any GAIL installation, project or office, subsidiary or joint venture, or deputed to a government department or other PSU.Names: B.TechSource: GAIL (India) Limited ↗Not established:Does not describe how locations are allotted.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE-2026 cycle.
Sources and unanswered questions
- POWERGRID, GAIL, Indian Oil, ONGC and NTPC documents, checked on 31 October 2026 · India · NTPC is known only from its portal listing; the Indian Oil and ONGC notices are older cycles and closed.
- Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
- Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
- Recruitment of Engineer Trainee-2027 through GATE-2027, Advt. No. CC/03/2026 ↗Power Grid Corporation of India Limited · accessed 24 Oct 2026Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- POWERGRID Advt. No. CC/03/2026 dated 24.09.2026
- applies to Engineer Trainees (Electrical, Civil, Computer Science, Electronics) recruited through GATE 2027.
- The advertisement states an approximate CTC of Rs 11.00 lakhs during training and Rs 22.50 lakhs after training, varying with posting location
- those figures are the employer's, not a market salary.
- A separate detailed notification with vacancies follows in March/April 2027.
- NTPC Advertisement No. 11/26, Recruitment of Engineering Executive Trainees-2027 through GATE-2027 (English Ad, on the NTPC recruitment page) ↗NTPC Limited · accessed 24 Oct 2026Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:NTPC Advt. 11/26 (posted 14 August 2026).- A detailed advertisement with the application period will follow
- this one gives no pay, age or percentage.
- Career opportunities as Executive Trainee through GATE-2026 (Advt. No. GAIL/OPEN/ET/2/2025) ↗GAIL (India) Limited · accessed 31 Oct 2026Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Advt. No. GAIL/OPEN/ET/2/2025; application window 17.02.2026 to 18.03.2026, now closed.
- A GATE-2027 first advertisement is out.
- Executive Trainee through GATE 2027 (first advertisement) ↗GAIL (India) Limited · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:see the GATE-2026 advertisement for the pay scale.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:GATE-2027 cycle; first (pre-GATE) advertisement. - Recruitment of Engineers/Officers and engagement as Graduate Apprentice Engineers through GATE-2024, Advt. No. DP/5/5/Open (GATE 2024) ↗Indian Oil Corporation Limited · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not show that IOCL will advertise through GATE again.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Advt. No. DP/5/5/Open (GATE 2024) dated 11 June 2024; last date 1 July 2024.
- CLOSED, and not the latest IOCL engineer recruitment.
- Recruitment of Graduate Trainees in Engineering & Geo-Sciences Disciplines at E1 level through GATE-2023 Score, Advt. No. 1/2024 (R&P) ↗Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Advt. No. 1/2024 (R&P); online registration 29/02/2024 to 06/03/2024. CLOSED, an older cycle.
- This is the most recent GATE-based ONGC notice found.
- read only through a summary, not quoted) listed Advt.
- No. 1/2025 (R&P) and 2/2026 (R&P) E1 recruitments as CBT-based. Not used as a finding.
Your next step: Read the current notice of each company you want for the branch list, minimum marks, GATE paper and bond before you register for GATE.
Keep reading
A source names these qualifications for this profile: B.Tech