Role to investigateSource-checked · reviewed 31 Oct 20264 sources cited
SSC Junior Engineer and state Junior Engineer posts
Investigate Junior Engineer posts: the SSC Junior Engineer Examination 2026, and the J&K Services Selection Board and Delhi Subordinate Services Selection Board notices, with the qualifications, pay level, fees and conditions each prints.
At a glance
- For youChoose a qualificationChoose your degree on the Explore page to see what the sources say for you.
- Cost3 sourcedThe application fee is Rs. 100; women, SC, ST, PwBD and Ex-Servicemen are exempt.
- Pay3 sourcedThe SSC JE posts are Group B in Level-6 (Rs. 35400-112400/-) of the 7th Central Pay Commission Pay Matrix.
- Hours1 sourcedSSC revised the JE 2026 Paper-I dates to 2 to 6 November 2026 and 30 November to 1 December 2026.
- Employers ask11 sourcedSSC holds an open competitive examination for various Junior Engineer posts for organisations and offices of the Government…
Checked 31 Oct 2026 · 4 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026
Cost, pay and hours
- 1Extra cost3 sourced
- The application fee is Rs. 100; women, SC, ST, PwBD and Ex-Servicemen are exempt.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- Online Application Form fee
- excludes women, SC, ST, PwBD and Ex-Servicemen pay nothing
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JE Examination 2026 online application (closed).- Does not print separate OBC/EWS amounts (the single amount is Rs. 100
- exempt categories are listed in para 10.13).
- The application fee is Rs. 600/-, and Rs. 500/- for SC, ST-1, ST-2, EWS and PwBD.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- Online application fee (Rs. 500/- for SC, ST-1, ST-2, EWS, PwBD)
- excludes bank/payment charges not stated
Note:No other fee categories; OBC pays the standard fee as printed.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JKSSB Advt. 10/2026. SC, ST-1, ST-2, EWS and PwBD pay Rs. 500/- (same paragraph).
Show 1 moreShow fewer
- The application fee is Rs. 100; women, SC, ST, PwBD and ex-servicemen are exempt.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- Application fee
- excludes exempt: women, SC, ST, PwBD, ex-servicemen
Note:Does not give separate OBC/EWS amounts.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:DSSSB Advt. 01/2026 (closed).
- The application fee is Rs. 100; women, SC, ST, PwBD and Ex-Servicemen are exempt.Basis:
- 2Pay3 sourced
- The SSC JE posts are Group B in Level-6 (Rs. 35400-112400/-) of the 7th Central Pay Commission Pay Matrix.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- per month
- Level-6 Pay Matrix range
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JE Examination 2026, all posts in the notice (the notice states Level-6 for the posts, including Scientific Assistant in IMD).- Does not state allowances, take-home pay or city-type effects.
- Excludes DA, HRA, TA and other allowances.
- The pay scale for the post is Level-6 (35400-112400).Basis:
- Indian rupees
- per month
- Pay level of the post
Note:Does not state allowances. Excludes allowances.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JKSSB Advt. 10/2026 (Annexure A row).
Show 1 moreShow fewer
- The pay scale for Junior Engineer (Civil) is Rs. 35,400 – 1,12,400/- (Pay Level – 6), Group B.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- per month
- Pay level of the post
Note:Does not state allowances. Excludes allowances.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- DSSSB Advt. 01/2026, JE (Civil), Delhi Jal Board.
- The AE (Civil) row of the same notice reads "44,900 – 1,42,400/- (Pay Level – 7)".
- The SSC JE posts are Group B in Level-6 (Rs. 35400-112400/-) of the 7th Central Pay Commission Pay Matrix.Basis:
- 3Shifts & hours1 sourced
- SSC revised the JE 2026 Paper-I dates to 2 to 6 November 2026 and 30 November to 1 December 2026.Note:Paper-II dates (December 2026) are tentative in the main notice.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Corrigendum dated 26.10.2026 to the Important Notice of 01.10.2026.
- A 01.10.2026 notice had given 02nd to 06th November 2026 only.
- SSC revised the JE 2026 Paper-I dates to 2 to 6 November 2026 and 30 November to 1 December 2026.
Reality check
The work
- SSC selects through two computer-based papers: Paper-I (General Intelligence and Reasoning, General Awareness) is qualifying, and final selection and post allocation depend on Paper-II and post preference.
- Appointees serve two years on probation.
- Day-to-day work is not described in these notices.
Entry requirements
- The qualification differs by organisation.
- CPWD's Junior Engineer (Civil) asks for a diploma in Civil Engineering, MES accepts a degree or a three-year diploma with two years' experience, the Central Water Commission accepts a degree or diploma, and the Department of Telecommunication asks for a bachelor's degree in engineering or technology.
- J&K's Mechanical post accepts a three-year diploma, a degree or AMIE, and Delhi's Jal Board Junior Engineer (Civil) a degree or a diploma plus two years' experience.
- SSC age limits are up to 30 or 32 years as on 1 August 2026, and pay is Level 6.
Trade-offs to consider
- SSC posts carry all-India service liability, and selected candidates may be allotted a State, Union Territory or Zone and may have to acquire the local language.
- Border Roads Organisation posts have physical efficiency tests and are open only to men.
- SSC revised the Paper-I dates to 2 to 6 November and 30 November to 1 December 2026.
- Not established: hours and shifts.
Skills & employers
Skills to investigate
- Engineering fundamentals
- Reasoning
- Examination preparation
Employers named in sourcesNone recorded.
Study or credential needed
- Selection is on merit in the written/OMR examination only.Note:Syllabus and exam date are notified separately.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JKSSB Advt. 10/2026. - DSSSB conducts a one-tier examination for Assistant Engineer (Civil) and Junior Engineer (Civil).Note:Paper details were not recorded.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:DSSSB Advt. 01/2026.
What employers ask for
- SSC holds an open competitive examination for various Junior Engineer posts for organisations and offices of the Government of India (Junior Engineer Examination, 2026).Source: Staff Selection Commission ↗Not established:Does not give final vacancy numbers;.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- SSC Junior Engineer Examination, 2026; applications 02.09.2026 to 22.09.2026 (closed).
- Posts listed include CPWD, MES, CWC, BRO, DGQA-Naval, Farakka Barrage, Brahmaputra Board, CWPRS, NTRO, DG Lighthouses, DoT and IMD (Scientific Assistant).
- Source: Staff Selection Commission ↗
- For CPWD Junior Engineer (Civil) SSC requires a Diploma in Civil Engineering from a recognised University or Institute
- the age limit is up to 32 years.
Not established:This row accepts a diploma; it does not say whether a degree-holder can apply to CPWD (it does not list a degree).Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- JE Examination 2026, CPWD JE(C).
- The row also gives CPWD JE(E): "Diploma in Electrical or Mechanical Engineering from a recognized University or Institute.".
- Source: Staff Selection Commission ↗
- For MES Junior Engineer (Civil) SSC accepts a Degree in Civil Engineering, or a three-year Diploma with two years' experience
- the age limit is up to 30 years.
Not established:The degree is not described as B.E./B.Tech in the row (it reads "Degree in Civil Engineering from a recognized University").Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- JE Examination 2026, MES JE(C).
- The MES JE(E&M) row is parallel for Electrical or Mechanical.
Show 8 moreShow fewer
- For Central Water Commission posts, SSC accepts a Bachelor's Degree or Diploma in Civil Engineering (JE Civil) or in Mechanical Engineering (JE Mechanical), age up to 30 years.Source: Staff Selection Commission ↗Not established:Different organisations set different qualification rules in the same notice.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JE Examination 2026, CWC JE(C). - For the Junior Engineer (Telecom) post at the Department of Telecommunication SSC requires a Bachelor's Degree in Engineering or Technology (a diploma is not listed for that post).Source: Staff Selection Commission ↗Not established:The row does not say "B.E./B.Tech" in those words.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JE Examination 2026, DoT JE (Telecom), up to 30 years. - Source: Staff Selection Commission ↗
- The crucial date for age reckoning is 01.08.2026
- posts carry age limits "up to 30 years" or "up to 32 years".
Not established:Relaxations (SC/ST 5 years, OBC 3 years in para 7.2) apply as per the notice.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JE Examination 2026. - Minimum qualifying marks in Paper-I and Paper-II are 30% (UR), 25% (OBC/EWS) and 20% (all other categories).Source: Staff Selection Commission ↗Not established:Qualifying minimum only; final selection depends on merit and vacancies.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JE Examination 2026. - The J&K Services Selection Board advertised 127 Junior Engineer (Mechanical) posts in the Public Works (R&B) Department of J&K.Source: Jammu and Kashmir Services Selection Board ↗Not established:Does not cover civil or electrical JE posts.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Advt. Notification No. 10 of 2026 dated 21.10.2026
- online applications 16.11.2026 to 15.12.2026 (open for the future).
- Mechanical branch only; domicile of J&K required.
- Qualification is a 3-year Diploma in Mechanical Engineering from a recognised institute, a university Degree in Mechanical Engineering, or AMIE Section (A&B).Source: Jammu and Kashmir Services Selection Board ↗Not established:the degree is not stated as B.E./B.Tech.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JKSSB Advt. 10/2026, JE (Mechanical), Public Works (R&B). - For Junior Engineer (Civil) at Delhi Jal Board, DSSSB requires a Degree in Civil Engineering, or a three-year Diploma in Civil Engineering plus two years' experience in civil works.Source: Delhi Subordinate Services Selection Board ↗Not established:The Assistant Engineer (Civil) post in the same notice requires a Degree in Civil Engineering only.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:DSSSB Advt. 01/2026, JE (Civil), Delhi Jal Board. - The age limit for JE (Civil) is not exceeding 30 years, relaxable by category under para 8 of the notice.Source: Delhi Subordinate Services Selection Board ↗Not established:Reference date for age is in para 8 and was not recorded.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:DSSSB Advt. 01/2026, JE (Civil), Delhi Jal Board.
The work and what comes next
The work, from the sources
- Selection is by two computer-based papers: Paper-I (General Intelligence & Reasoning, General Awareness) is qualifying in nature, and final selection and post allocation depend on Paper-II performance and post preference.Source: Staff Selection Commission ↗Not established:Does not give the Paper-II syllabus or marking beyond what is quoted; read the notice for those.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JE Examination 2026. Final selection basis is in para 18.5: "FRTA/Final selection and allocation of Post/ Organization/ Office will be made on the basis of the performance of candidates in Paper-II". - Appointees serve on probation for two years and are liable to serve anywhere in India (All India Service Liability).Source: Staff Selection Commission ↗Not established:Does not state working hours or shift patterns for any post.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JE Examination 2026. Probation: "shall be on probation for a period of two years" (para 18.15).
What can come next
- Selected candidates may be allotted a State/UT/Zone and may be required to acquire proficiency in the local language for confirmation.Source: Staff Selection Commission ↗Not established:Which organisation or state applies depends on merit and preference.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:JE Examination 2026. - Source: Staff Selection Commission ↗
- Junior Engineer posts in the Border Roads Organisation have stringent physical and medical standards including Physical Efficiency Tests
- only male candidates are eligible for BRO JE posts.
Not established:Applies to BRO only.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- JE Examination 2026, BRO posts only.
- The male-only rule is in para 5.3 ("Only male candidates are eligible for the post(s) of Junior Engineer(s) in the...").
Sources and unanswered questions
- SSC, J&K Services Selection Board and Delhi Subordinate Services Selection Board notices, checked on 31 October 2026 · India · each body and cycle differs; RBI, NBCC and state commission notices could not be read.
- Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
- Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
- Notice: Junior Engineer Examination, 2026 (F. No. HQ-C-3019/1/2026-C-3) ↗Staff Selection Commission · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not give final vacancy numbers;.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- SSC Junior Engineer Examination, 2026; applications 02.09.2026 to 22.09.2026 (closed).
- Posts listed include CPWD, MES, CWC, BRO, DGQA-Naval, Farakka Barrage, Brahmaputra Board, CWPRS, NTRO, DG Lighthouses, DoT and IMD (Scientific Assistant).
- Corrigendum to Important Notice dated 01.10.2026 ↗Staff Selection Commission · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Paper-II dates (December 2026) are tentative in the main notice.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Corrigendum dated 26.10.2026 to the Important Notice of 01.10.2026.
- A 01.10.2026 notice had given 02nd to 06th November 2026 only.
- Advertisement Notification No. 10 of 2026: Junior Engineer (Mechanical), Public Works (R&B) Department, J&K ↗Jammu and Kashmir Services Selection Board · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not cover civil or electrical JE posts.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Advt. Notification No. 10 of 2026 dated 21.10.2026
- online applications 16.11.2026 to 15.12.2026 (open for the future).
- Mechanical branch only; domicile of J&K required.
- Vacancy Notice / Advertisement No. 01/2026, Combined Examinations 2026 (Legal Assistant, Assistant Engineer (Civil), Junior Engineer (Civil), Grade-II/ASO) ↗Delhi Subordinate Services Selection Board · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:The Assistant Engineer (Civil) post in the same notice requires a Degree in Civil Engineering only.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:DSSSB Advt. 01/2026, JE (Civil), Delhi Jal Board.
Your next step: Check which organisation's post you want, because its qualification and age differ, then read its current notice for the fee and dates.