Esc
Further studySource-checked · reviewed 21 Oct 20267 sources cited

Hospital administration via MHA

Investigate a further-study route into hospital management.

At a glance

Checked 21 Oct 2026 · 7 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026

Cost, pay and hours

As sourced
  1. 1
    Extra cost4 sourced
    • IIPHG’s MHA brochure lists tuition of ₹2,60,000 per annum for Indian nationals (including Nepal and Bhutan) for the August 2026 batch.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per year, tuition only
      • two-year programme
      • excludes accommodation, food and other costs
      • 2026 batch
      Show scopeScope:
      • 2026 batch only; later batches may differ.
      • The brochure says limited scholarships are available for approximately 25% of students.
      • TISS MHA fee table: semester totals 56,650, 30,200, 42,900 and 29,700
      • the page prints Year I 86,850, Year II 72,600 and total course fees 1,59,450.
      Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • tuition 17,600 per semester, examination, field education/internship, IT, library, funds, and a refundable caution deposit of 11,000
      • excludes practicum, study tour, field work or winter institute costs, payable separately
      • the Institute may revise the fee
      Show scopeScope:Table on the current MHA page (brochure batch 2026-28); the page does not state its own year.
      Note:Hostel is not included. Fee for the next batch is not stated.
    Show 2 more
      • SGPGIMS prints a fee schedule in four instalments (two per year)
      • the instalment totals are 35750, 23050, 20250 and 23350, including a refundable caution money of 10000 in the first.
      • Hostel and other fees are extra.
      Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • admission fee, course fee, examination fee, enrolment fee, certificate fees, caution money (refundable), library fee
      • excludes hostel and other fees payable as per institute rules (the brochure says so)
      Show scopeScope:Session 2026-27. Instalment totals are shown as printed, not summed.
      Note:Two-year total not printed here.
    • IIHMR Delhi's FAQ puts the two-year PGDHM (MBA-equivalent hospital and health management) fee at Rs 9,25,000 payable in instalments, subject to revision.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • two-year programme total, payable in instalments
      • hostel and other charges are not mentioned in the text checked
      Show scopeScope:Page names no batch; its GD/PI open days are March to June 2026, so it appears to describe the 2026-28 intake.
      Note:
      • This is a PGDM (AICTE-approved, AIU says MBA-equivalent per the 2024-26 brochure), not an MHA.
      • The 2024-26 brochure and 2025-27 listings show lower totals; no 2027-29 notice found.
  2. 2
    Pay3 sourced
    • The brochure offers limited scholarships for about 25% of students and prints no stipend.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • Scholarship amount is not printed
      Show scopeScope:2026 batch.
      Note:
      • Amount, criteria and whether it waives tuition are not given.
      • Excludes Stipend: none stated.
      • The TISS fee note says remaining fee components are paid when scholarship amounts are received; no stipend is stated.
      • The brochure says the three internships (8 weeks each) are in public, trust and corporate hospitals.
      Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • No stipend or scholarship amount is printed
      Show scopeScope:TISS MHA page.
      Note:
      • No internship stipend, no scholarship amount.
      • Excludes Government of India post-matric scholarship holders (SC/ST) pay a reduced set of items, per the note.
    Show 1 more
    • SGPGIMS states that no salary or stipend is paid to any MHA student.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per month
      • MHA students at SGPGIMS, 2026-27
      Show scopeScope:Session 2026-27.
      Note:Hostel is 'subject to availability'. Excludes n/a.
  3. 3
    Timetable & attendance2 sourced
      • TISS requires three hospital internships of 8 weeks each across the two-year MHA
      • students arrange their own travel and accommodation.
      Show scopeScope:TISS MHA, Mumbai, intake 45; curriculum marked tentative.
      Note:
      • No daily hours, shifts or timetable.
      • Hospitals are decided by the school and may be anywhere in the country.
      • SGPGIMS allows ten days of leave a year in the MHA beyond Sundays and gazetted holidays
      • longer absence extends the course.
      Show scopeScope:SGPGIMS MHA 2026-27 only.
      Note:
      • Does not state daily working hours or shift duty.
      • The same page says no salary or stipend is paid to MHA students.

Reality check

From the sources
The work
  • The IIPHG programme covers healthcare management, internships and dissertation work.
  • Job requirements differ from course admission criteria.
Entry requirements
  • IIPHG describes a two-year full-time programme.
  • Its 2026 brochure says it is open to a bachelor’s degree in medicine and surgery, dentistry, physiotherapy, AYUSH, health and allied paramedical sciences or nursing (including life sciences) with at least 50% marks
  • relevant experience is an advantage but not mandatory.
  • That batch’s application deadline was 31 May 2026 and the next intake is not established, so confirm its exact qualification, marks and fee directly.
Trade-offs to consider
  • This is a study route with tuition and opportunity costs, rather than immediate employment.
  • The 2026 brochure lists tuition of ₹2,60,000 per year for Indian nationals, excluding accommodation, food and other costs.
  • Graduate outcomes are not established here.

Skills & employers

From the sources
Skills to investigate
  • Coordination
  • Process analysis
  • Communication
Institutions named in sources
  • IIPHG
  • Tata Institute of Social Sciences
  • Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences (SGPGIMS), Lucknow
  • IIHMR Delhi
Examples in cited pages, not a hiring list.
Study or credential neededNo separate licence or credential is recorded for this route. The entrance exam and eligibility are under “How admission works”.

How admission works

8 sourced
    • IIPHG describes a two-year full-time programme.
    • The admissions page shows a 2026 timeline that has already passed.
    • Confirm the next intake’s exact qualification, marks and fee requirements directly.
    Source: IIPHG ↗, IIPHG ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Programme/process information only.
    • Displayed 2026 admission dates have passed; next intake not established.
    • IIPHG’s MHA brochure for the August 2026–July 2028 batch says the programme is open to candidates with a bachelor’s degree in medicine and surgery, dentistry, physiotherapy, AYUSH, or health and allied paramedical sciences and nursing (including life sciences) from a recognised university with at least 50% marks
    • work experience is an advantage but not mandatory.
    Names: MBBS, BDS, BPT, BHMS, BAMS, BUMS, BSMS, BNYS, B.Sc NursingSource: IIPHG ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • 2026 batch only; the application deadline was 31 May 2026 and the next intake is not established.
    • B.Pharm, M.Pharm, Pharm.D, GNM and other qualifications are not named in this passage.
    • Admission also depends on a screening test and interview.
    • Selection is by academic review, a screening test and a personal interview; the programme has 60 seats
    • the 2026 application deadline was 31 May 2026.
    Source: IIPHG ↗
    Show scopeScope:2026 batch.
    Not established:No 2027 dates.
Show 5 more
  • TISS Mumbai's MHA (School of Health Systems Studies) has 45 seats, is four semesters over two years, and selects by CAT score (80%) plus an online assessment (20%: 10% extempore reflection test, 10% online interview).
    Names: MBBS, BPT, B.Sc NursingSource: Tata Institute of Social Sciences ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Programme page linked to the 2026-28 brochure.
    • The selection page named CAT as the only test for MHA
    • MBBS, BPT and BSc Nursing are named as 'Academic Diversity' graduates who get an extra 5% weight in shortlisting, not as the only eligible degrees.
    Not established:
    • The selection page's wording on eligibility ('recognised 3- or 4-year bachelor's or master's degree') came through a text summary, not a verbatim read.
    • Both the admission-year label and the TISS pages' consistency need a human check.
  • TISS's admission calendar lists the MHA under a 'CAT-PG 2027' timeline with every date still 'To be announced'.
    Source: Tata Institute of Social Sciences ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Calendar as read on 24 Oct 2026
    • the CUET-PG MA timeline on the same page is a 2026 cycle that has closed.
    Not established:
    • No application window is published for the next MHA batch.
    • Whether 'CAT-PG 2027' means a 2027 or a 2027-29 batch is not stated.
    • SGPGIMS Lucknow's MHA (session 2026-27) makes MBBS or BDS from an NMC/DCI-recognised college the mandatory eligibility
    • other degrees are not eligible.
    Names: MBBS, BDSSource: Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences (SGPGIMS), Lucknow ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Session 2026-27. The file is hosted on the institute's application-portal vendor (sgpgims.eapplynow.com)
    • the same brochure is on sgpgims.org.in. 'Date for uploading of information brochure' is 07 June 2026.
    Not established:
    • Explicit exclusion is by 'mandatory' wording, not a list of excluded degrees.
    • Age limit 35 years on the exam date (from a search summary of the brochure, not confirmed in the full text).
  • IIPHG admits to the MHA by its own online screening test and interview, and says no external postgraduate entrance exam score is required.
    Source: IIPHG ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • IIPHG MHA, batch starting 3 August 2026 (page last updated 27 March 2026).
    • Newer batch information not published on the page checked.
    Not established:Applies to IIPHG only. Other MHA programmes do require national exams (for example TISS, IIHMR Delhi, SGPGIMS).
  • TISS lists the Master of Hospital Administration in its CAT-PG admission timeline for 2027.
    Source: Tata Institute of Social Sciences ↗
    Show scopeScope:TISS MHA, 2027 admission, dates not yet announced on the page.
    Not established:
    • The page lists the programme under CAT-PG but does not itself state a minimum CAT score or eligibility degree.
    • Check the TISS brochure before stating requirements.

The work and what comes next

2 sourced
The work, from the sources
    • The IIPHG programme covers healthcare management, internships and dissertation work.
    • Job requirements differ from course admission criteria.
    Source: IIPHG ↗, IIPHG ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Programme/process information only.
    • Displayed 2026 admission dates have passed; next intake not established.
What can come next
  • The brochure's 'Top Recruiters' sector list includes health insurance and TPAs (insurance companies, third-party administrators, claims and provider network management).
    Source: IIPHG ↗
    Show scopeScope:Institution's marketing list of sectors.
    Not established:
    • No placement numbers, pay or named employers were read.
    • Does not show outcomes for any batch.

Sources and unanswered questions

  • Programme/process information only. Displayed 2026 admission dates have passed; next intake not established.
  • Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
  • Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
  • IIPHG MHA programme ↗IIPHG · accessed 21 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:Programme description · current intake eligibility still to confirm
    Page checked automatically on 2026-10-25: the page opened.
  • IIPHG admission process ↗IIPHG · accessed 21 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Displayed May–August 2026 admissions timeline has passed.
    • Next intake eligibility and dates must be confirmed.
    Page checked automatically on 2026-10-25: the page opened.
  • IIPHG MHA admission brochure (batch August 2026–July 2028) ↗IIPHG · accessed 23 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • 2026 batch only; the application deadline of 31 May 2026 has passed and the next intake is not established.
    • Fees exclude accommodation, food and other costs.
    • The file’s server date is 13 Feb 2026; it carries no publication date.
    Link checked automatically on 2026-10-25: the page opened.
  • Master of Hospital Administration (MHA) ↗Tata Institute of Social Sciences · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Programme page linked to the 2026-28 brochure.
    • The selection page named CAT as the only test for MHA
    • MBBS, BPT and BSc Nursing are named as 'Academic Diversity' graduates who get an extra 5% weight in shortlisting, not as the only eligible degrees.
    Not established:
    • The selection page's wording on eligibility ('recognised 3- or 4-year bachelor's or master's degree') came through a text summary, not a verbatim read.
    • Both the admission-year label and the TISS pages' consistency need a human check.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Admission calendar ↗Tata Institute of Social Sciences · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Calendar as read on 24 Oct 2026
    • the CUET-PG MA timeline on the same page is a 2026 cycle that has closed.
    Not established:
    • No application window is published for the next MHA batch.
    • Whether 'CAT-PG 2027' means a 2027 or a 2027-29 batch is not stated.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Information Brochure for Master's in Hospital Administration (MHA), Session 2026-27 ↗Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences (SGPGIMS), Lucknow · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Session 2026-27. The file is hosted on the institute's application-portal vendor (sgpgims.eapplynow.com)
    • the same brochure is on sgpgims.org.in. 'Date for uploading of information brochure' is 07 June 2026.
    Not established:
    • Explicit exclusion is by 'mandatory' wording, not a list of excluded degrees.
    • Age limit 35 years on the exam date (from a search summary of the brochure, not confirmed in the full text).
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Admission FAQ, PGDM (Hospital & Health Management) ↗IIHMR Delhi · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:Page names no batch; its GD/PI open days are March to June 2026, so it appears to describe the 2026-28 intake.
    Not established:
    • This is a PGDM (AICTE-approved, AIU says MBA-equivalent per the 2024-26 brochure), not an MHA.
    • The 2024-26 brochure and 2025-27 listings show lower totals; no 2027-29 notice found.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Your next step: Check the current admission brochure, full cost and graduate outcomes.

A source names these qualifications for this profile: MBBS · Medicine, BHMS · Homoeopathy, BAMS · Ayurveda, BUMS · Unani, BSMS · Siddha, BNYS · Naturopathy and yoga, BDS · Dentistry, B.Sc Nursing