Esc
Role to investigateSource-checked · reviewed 21 Oct 202612 sources cited

Clinical research support

Explore coordination and documentation roles in research teams.

At a glance

Checked 21 Oct 2026 · 12 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026

Cost, pay and hours

As sourced
  1. 1
    Extra cost3 sourced
    • Sir Ganga Ram Hospital's PG Diploma in Clinical Research and Regulation lists a course fee of Rs. 1.5 Lakhs for a one-year, semester-wise programme.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • Course fee for the one-year diploma, payable semester-wise
      Show scopeScope:One hospital's prospectus; the batch or year is not printed on the document, so it may be an older prospectus.
      Note:
      • Not shown to be the current batch.
      • Other diplomas cost different amounts.
      • Hiring employers read do not require this specific diploma.
      Show 1 more
      • ACTREC's Trial Coordinator notice (Advt-117/2026) says a P.G. Diploma in Clinical Research is mandatory with a B.Sc. in Life Science.
    • ACRP lists CCRC certification registration fees of US$435 (members) and US$485 (non-members) at the early-bird rate, and US$460 and US$600 at the regular rate.Basis:
      • US dollars
      • per attempt
      • Not stated on the page
      • the page does not say what the fee covers
      Show scopeScope:
      • Initial CCRC exam registration, 2026 windows.
      • Eligibility on the same page: 3,000 hours of verifiable work experience, with internships excluded from experience.
      Note:
      • Amount is in US dollars, not converted.
      • Not required by the employer listings read.
      • Requires 3,000 hours of paid research work, so it is not an entry credential. please re-check the wording on the live page.
    Show 1 more
    • SOCRA lists the CCRP certification exam at US$510 for current members and US$565 for non-members in North America, and US$570 and US$625 outside North America.Basis:
      • US dollars
      • per attempt
      • Exam
      • the page notes non-members receive complimentary membership after passing
      • excludes Not itemised
      • retest fee of $390 within one year
      Show scopeScope:
      • CCRP exam, current page, no batch stated.
      • Eligibility needs about two years full-time clinical research work (or 3,500 part-time hours) or a qualifying degree plus one year.
      Note:US-dollar fee for an experienced-worker credential, not an entry cost.
  2. 2
    Pay4 sourced
    • Tata Memorial Centre (ACTREC) advertised a Clinical Research Coordinator on a project at a consolidated salary of Rs. 36,000 per month for six months, extendable.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per month
      • Consolidated salary for one project post
      Show scopeScope:
      • ACTREC (Kharghar, Navi Mumbai), advert no. ACTREC/ADVT-157/2026 dated 11 Aug 2026, walk-in on 19 Aug 2026 (already past).
      • On a cell-therapy trial project, six months and extendable.
      • Requires a PG science degree with PG Diploma in Clinical Research and 1 year of clinical research work experience.
      Show 2 more
      • Tata Memorial Centre is a grant-in-aid institution of the Department of Atomic Energy
      • ACTREC, Tata Memorial Hospital and HBCH&RC are units of it, so they count as ONE employer family.
      Note:
      • Not a fresher pay figure (1 year of experience is mandatory). One project, one date.
      • Not a pay scale and not a statement about private CROs or hospitals.
      • Excludes Not stated; the notice does not list allowances, benefits or incentives.
    • Tata Memorial Centre (ACTREC) advertised a Trial Coordinator project post at a consolidated Rs. 23,000 to Rs. 25,000 per month for six months, extendable.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per month
      • Consolidated salary for one project post (range as printed)
      Show scopeScope:
      • Advert ACTREC/ADVT-117/2026 dated 22 Jun 2026; walk-in 30 Jun 2026 (past).
      • Oral cancer detection tools project, six months and extendable.
      • Requires B.Sc. in Life Science with PG Diploma in Clinical Research; experience desirable.
      Show 2 more
      • Tata Memorial Centre is a grant-in-aid institution of the Department of Atomic Energy
      • ACTREC, Tata Memorial Hospital and HBCH&RC are units of it, so they count as ONE employer family.
      Note:
      • The notice does not say what decides where in the range a candidate falls.
      • One project, one date; closed. Excludes Not stated.
    Show 2 more
    • Tata Memorial Hospital (Parel) advertised a Project Technical Support III (Clinical Research Coordinator) post at Rs. 36,400 including 30% HRA, initially for six months.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • as printed (no period is stated beside the figure)
      • Remuneration including 30% HRA
      Show scopeScope:
      • Project No. 4271 (ICMR-funded, ISCALL), Tata Memorial Hospital Parel, Mumbai; walk-in 30 Apr 2026 (past); initially six months; 1 vacancy.
      • Tata Memorial Centre is a grant-in-aid institution of the Department of Atomic Energy
      • ACTREC, Tata Memorial Hospital and HBCH&RC are units of it, so they count as ONE employer family. Not a permanent post.
      Note:Includes 30% HRA. The notice does not print a period beside the figure.
    • Homi Bhabha Cancer Hospital & Research Centre, Punjab (a unit of Tata Memorial Centre) advertised a Clinical Research Coordinator at Rs. 30,000 per month for a purely temporary three-month project post.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per month
      • Salary per month column, one post
      Show scopeScope:
      • Walk-in 22 Apr 2026 (past), New Chandigarh, Punjab. 'purely temporary for project research work for period of three months from the date of joining and may be extendable subject to availability of funds'.
      • Tata Memorial Centre is a grant-in-aid institution of the Department of Atomic Energy
      • ACTREC, Tata Memorial Hospital and HBCH&RC are units of it, so they count as ONE employer family.
      Note:Three-month project post; extension depends on funds. Not a career pay level. Excludes Not stated.
  3. 3
    Shifts & hours2 sourced
    • ICON's CRA II India post (a monitoring role, not a coordinator post) requires travel at least 60% of the time and a valid driver's licence.
      Show scopeScope:One monitoring post, appears open on 24 Oct 2026.
      Note:Says nothing about shift hours or on-call work.
    • Syneos Health's Sr CRA I post at Gurgaon (a monitoring role, not a coordinator post) requires ability to manage travel of up to 75% on a regular basis.
      Show scopeScope:One senior monitoring post.
      Note:No hours or shift text.

Reality check

From the sources
The work
The expired ICON example describes tracking study documents, coordinating materials and supporting clinical trial teams.
Entry requirements
  • This historical Clinical Trial Assistant example asks for a life-science degree and 1–2 years of clinical research coordinator experience.
  • It is not evidence of immediate entry for a new graduate.
Trade-offs to consider
  • The cited vacancy is expired.
  • Assistant, coordinator and research associate titles are not interchangeable.
  • In the Tata Memorial Centre project notices read (all now expired), the coordinator posts asked for a PG Diploma in Clinical Research, and the experience asked for differed by post.
  • Check the current notice of the employer you are considering.

Skills & employers

From the sources
Skills to investigate
  • Organization
  • Documentation
  • Communication
Employers named in sources
  • ICON
  • Tata Memorial Centre / ACTREC
  • Tata Memorial Centre / Tata Memorial Hospital
  • Tata Memorial Centre / HBCH&RC Punjab
  • ICON plc
  • Syneos Health
Examples in cited pages, not a hiring list.
Study or credential needed
    • The NDCT Rules 2019 require trial investigators to have appropriate qualifications, training and experience and a qualified physician (or dentist) responsible for trial-related medical decisions.
    • The Rules do not mention a clinical research coordinator at all.
    Show scopeScope:
    • Statute as published on CDSCO site, amended up to 18 Jan 2022.
    • A later amendment may exist.
    Note:
    • Does not set any qualification for coordinators or assistants.
    • It does not name ICH-GCP training for coordinators.
  • In the investigator's undertaking (Table 4, Third Schedule) the investigator agrees that all associates, colleagues and employees assisting in the trial are suitably qualified and experienced.Note:No named degree, course or certificate for support staff.

What employers ask for

7 sourced
    • This historical Clinical Trial Assistant example asks for a life-science degree and 1–2 years of clinical research coordinator experience.
    • It is not evidence of immediate entry for a new graduate.
    Source: ICON ↗
    Show scopeScope:Expired vacancy. Historical task and experience example only; not an opening for fresh graduates.
    • ICON plc lists a Senior Clinical Trial Associate post (JR155460), India, on its careers site
    • it appears open and asks for 3-5 years as a Clinical Trial Associate.
    Source: ICON plc ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Header says Bangalore, body says 'Location: Mumbai Based Candidates preferred'; hybrid.
    • Duty: 'Support global study teams with trial documentation, TMF maintenance, and compliance'.
    Not established:Not an entry-level post. No degree is named on the page.
    • ICON plc lists a CRA II post (JR156746), India, on its careers site
    • it appears open and asks for 4-5 years of monitoring experience.
    Source: ICON plc ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Header Bangalore, body 'Location: Mumbai (Hybrid Role)'.
    • Degree line: 'Bachelor's degree in a scientific or healthcare-related field'.
    Not established:No site qualification is named; 'healthcare-related field' is not a list of degrees. Not a trainee post.
Show 4 more
  • Syneos Health lists a Sr CRA I post at Gurgaon (updated 8 Oct 2026) that accepts a bachelor's degree or RN in a related field.
    Source: Syneos Health ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Page updated 8 Oct 2026, Job ID 25107812, not marked inactive on 24 Oct 2026.
    • Experienced post ('Ophthalmology & Oncology exp').
    Not established:
    • 'RN' is not mapped to a specific Indian nursing qualification
    • no years of experience were shown in the portion.
  • Tata Memorial Centre (ACTREC, Tata Memorial Hospital, HBCH&RC Punjab) repeatedly advertises project-based clinical research coordinator and trial coordinator posts via walk-in interviews in 2026.
    Source: Tata Memorial Centre / ACTREC ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Four 2026 notices read (Apr, Apr, Jun, Aug).
    • All past their walk-in dates on 24 Oct 2026
    • Tata Memorial Centre is a grant-in-aid institution of the Department of Atomic Energy
    Show 1 more
    • ACTREC, Tata Memorial Hospital and HBCH&RC are units of it, so they count as ONE employer family.
    Not established:Does not show a post is open today.
  • Tata Memorial Hospital (Parel) CRC post accepted Graduation in Life Science or B. Pharm, with PG Diploma in Clinical research and three years' experience (mandatory), or a Post graduate degree in Life Science or M. Pharm with the PG Diploma (experience desirable).
    Names: B.Pharm, M.PharmSource: Tata Memorial Centre / Tata Memorial Hospital ↗
    Show scopeScope:Second route text: 'Post graduate Degree in Life Science/ M. Pharm with Post graduate Diploma in Clinical research is mandatory & Experience is Desirable'. One post, closed.
    Not established:MBBS, nursing, AYUSH and other site qualifications are neither named nor excluded in this notice ('Life Science' is a subject field).
  • Homi Bhabha Cancer Hospital Punjab named B.Sc or B. Pharma (with PG Diploma in Clinical Research) or M.Sc in Clinical Research, or an 'equivalent qualification', for its CRC post.
    Names: B.PharmSource: Tata Memorial Centre / HBCH&RC Punjab ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • One post, 22 Apr 2026, closed.
    • Quote joins two lines of the table cell.
    Not established:'Equivalent qualification' is undefined; no other site qualification is named.

The work and what comes next

4 sourced
The work, from the sources
  • The expired ICON example describes tracking study documents, coordinating materials and supporting clinical trial teams.
    Source: ICON ↗
    Show scopeScope:Expired vacancy. Historical task and experience example only; not an opening for fresh graduates.
  • ICON's expired Clinical Trial Assistant post (Chennai) was to support the Clinical Trial Management and Project Management teams with operational activities.
    Source: ICON ↗
    Show scopeScope:Expired post, historical example.
    Not established:Not a live opening.
What can come next
  • Tata Memorial Centre's project coordinator posts are short and funding dependent: three or six months, 'extendable subject to availability of funds'.
    Source: Tata Memorial Centre / HBCH&RC Punjab ↗
    Show scopeScope:HBCH Punjab post; ACTREC posts say 'Six months & extendable' and the Parel post 'Initially for a period of six months'.
    Not established:Does not describe private CRO contracts, which are typically permanent but need years of experience.
  • At ICON the route up from Clinical Trial Assistant is visible in titles: a Senior Clinical Trial Associate needs 3-5 years as a CTA, and CRA II needs 4-5 years as a CRA.
    Source: ICON plc ↗
    Show scopeScope:Two ICON India posts; no ICON statement of a formal career ladder was read.
    Not established:Does not say how many CTAs reach those levels or how fast.

Sources and unanswered questions

  • Expired vacancy. Historical task and experience example only; not an opening for fresh graduates.
  • Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
  • Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
  • ICON Clinical Trial Assistant JR103616 ↗ICON · accessed 21 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:Expired vacancy. Historical task and experience example only; not an opening for fresh graduates.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Walk-In Interview for Clinical Research Coordinator (ACTREC/ADVT-157/2026) ↗Tata Memorial Centre / ACTREC · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • ACTREC (Kharghar, Navi Mumbai), advert no. ACTREC/ADVT-157/2026 dated 11 Aug 2026, walk-in on 19 Aug 2026 (already past).
    • On a cell-therapy trial project, six months and extendable.
    • Requires a PG science degree with PG Diploma in Clinical Research and 1 year of clinical research work experience.
    Show 2 more
    • Tata Memorial Centre is a grant-in-aid institution of the Department of Atomic Energy
    • ACTREC, Tata Memorial Hospital and HBCH&RC are units of it, so they count as ONE employer family.
    Not established:Not a fresher pay figure (1 year of experience is mandatory). One pro
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Walk-in interview for Trial Coordinator (ACTREC/ADVT-117/2026) ↗Tata Memorial Centre / ACTREC · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Advert ACTREC/ADVT-117/2026 dated 22 Jun 2026; walk-in 30 Jun 2026 (past).
    • Oral cancer detection tools project, six months and extendable.
    • Requires B.Sc. in Life Science with PG Diploma in Clinical Research; experience desirable.
    Show 2 more
    • Tata Memorial Centre is a grant-in-aid institution of the Department of Atomic Energy
    • ACTREC, Tata Memorial Hospital and HBCH&RC are units of it, so they count as ONE employer family.
    Not established:
    • The notice does not say what decides where in the range a candidate falls.
    • One project, one date; closed.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Walk-in interview 30.04.2026, Project Technical Support III (Clinical Research Coordinator), Ref TMC/AD/57/2026 ↗Tata Memorial Centre / Tata Memorial Hospital · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Project No. 4271 (ICMR-funded, ISCALL), Tata Memorial Hospital Parel, Mumbai; walk-in 30 Apr 2026 (past); initially six months; 1 vacancy.
    • Tata Memorial Centre is a grant-in-aid institution of the Department of Atomic Energy
    • ACTREC, Tata Memorial Hospital and HBCH&RC are units of it, so they count as ONE employer family. Not a permanent post.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Walk-in interview for Clinical Research Coordinator (Project Hamsyl Phase-IV), Ref TMC/HBCHS/HRD/26/44 ↗Tata Memorial Centre / HBCH&RC Punjab · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Walk-in 22 Apr 2026 (past), New Chandigarh, Punjab. 'purely temporary for project research work for period of three months from the date of joining and may be extendable subject to availability of funds'.
    • Tata Memorial Centre is a grant-in-aid institution of the Department of Atomic Energy
    • ACTREC, Tata Memorial Hospital and HBCH&RC are units of it, so they count as ONE employer family.
    Not established:Three-month project post; extension depends on funds. Not a career pay level.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • The New Drugs and Clinical Trials Rules, 2019 (as amended to GSR 21(E), 18-1-2022) ↗Central Drugs Standard Control Organization (CDSCO) · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Statute as published on CDSCO site, amended up to 18 Jan 2022.
    • The full text has no mention of 'coordinator'.
    • A later amendment may exist.
    Not established:
    • Does not set any qualification for coordinators or assistants.
    • It does not name ICH-GCP training for coordinators.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Senior Clinical Trial Associate job in India, Bangalore ↗ICON plc · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Header says Bangalore, body says 'Location: Mumbai Based Candidates preferred'; hybrid.
    • Duty: 'Support global study teams with trial documentation, TMF maintenance, and compliance.'
    Not established:Not an entry-level post. No degree is named on the page.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • CRA II job in India, Bangalore ↗ICON plc · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Header Bangalore, body 'Location: Mumbai (Hybrid Role)'.
    • Degree line: 'Bachelor's degree in a scientific or healthcare-related field.'
    Not established:No site qualification is named; 'healthcare-related field' is not a list of degrees. Not a trainee post.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Sr CRA I (Ophthalmology & Oncology exp) in Gurgaon ↗Syneos Health · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Page updated 8 Oct 2026, Job ID 25107812, not marked inactive on 24 Oct 2026.
    • Experienced post ('Ophthalmology & Oncology exp').
    Not established:'RN' is not mapped to a specific Indian nursing qualification; no years of experience were shown.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Prospectus: PG Diploma in Clinical Research and Regulation ↗Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, New Delhi · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:One hospital's prospectus; the batch or year is not printed on the document, so it may be an older prospectus.
    Not established:
    • Not shown to be the current batch.
    • Other diplomas cost different amounts.
    • Hiring employers read do not require this specific diploma.
    Show 1 more
    • ACTREC's Trial Coordinator notice (Advt-117/2026) says a P.G. Diploma in Clinical Research is mandatory with a B.Sc. in Life Science.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • CCRC Certification ↗ACRP · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Initial CCRC exam registration, 2026 windows.
    • Eligibility on the same page: 3,000 hours of verifiable work experience, with internships excluded from experience.
    Not established:
    • Amount is in US dollars, not converted.
    • Not required by the employer listings read.
    • Requires 3,000 hours of paid research work, so it is not an entry credential. please re-check the wording on the live page.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • CCRP Certification Exam ↗Society of Clinical Research Associates (SOCRA) · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • CCRP exam, current page, no batch stated.
    • Eligibility needs about two years full-time clinical research work (or 3,500 part-time hours) or a qualifying degree plus one year.
    Not established:US-dollar fee for an experienced-worker credential, not an entry cost.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Your next step: Find a current trainee or assistant opening and check the exact degree, experience and supervision requirements.

A source names these qualifications for this profile: B.Pharm, M.Pharm