Esc
Role to investigateSource-checked · reviewed 21 Oct 202611 sources cited

Pharmacovigilance

Explore work involving medicine-safety information.

At a glance

Checked 21 Oct 2026 · 11 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026

Cost, pay and hours

As sourced
  1. 1
    Extra cost1 sourced
    • The Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission (NCC-PvPI) charges a Rs. 2000 registration fee for its 39th online Skill Development Programme on Pharmacovigilance, 16-20 November 2026.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • registration for the five-day online programme, 16th-20th November 2026
      • GST, certificate fee and eligibility criteria are not in the notice
      Show scopeScope:39th programme only, online, five days.
      Note:The notice does not say the programme is required by any employer or regulator, nor who may register.
  2. 2
    Pay1 sourced
    • R.D. Gardi Medical College (RDGMC), Ujjain, a PvPI ADR Monitoring Centre, advertised the same Jr. Pharmacovigilance Associate post at Rs. 32,000 per month, paid by IPC's authorised manpower agency.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per month
      • Salary for one post at the AMC
      Show scopeScope:
      • Notice closed 10 May 2025 (last date for receiving application 10.05.2025 5:00 pm).
      • One engagement 'initially for a period of one year'.
      Note:Past notice, different centre from the IPC ad (26,250), so pay varies by centre/agency; not a 2026 figure. Excludes Not stated.
  3. 3
    Shifts & hours1 sourced
    • A Syneos Health India safety post for a Mandarin/Chinese speaker listed a Tuesday-to-Saturday 3 PM to 12 AM shift with possible extensions.
      Show scopeScope:
      • Post is language-specific, location IND-Remote, marked 'no longer active' (updated 6 Apr 2026).
      • Also says 'Flexibility may be required based on business needs; shift extensions may be necessary'.
      Note:Not a general statement for all Syneos or all PV roles.

Reality check

From the sources
The work
The historical ICON example covers preparing and checking safety-reporting documents and coordinating their submission.
Entry requirements
  • The expired India listing describes a medical/science background, with nursing preferred, and/or a bachelor’s degree or local equivalent, plus 1–2 years of relevant experience.
  • Confirm exact degree acceptance with the employer.
Trade-offs to consider
  • The Syneos examples ask for 2.6 to 7 years of experience, so they are not evidence of immediate fresher entry.
  • A contract post advertised by the Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission’s PvPI accepted a pharmacy Master’s, Pharm.D, MBBS or BDS with experience only “desirable”, but its page was last updated in 2022.
  • Check supervision, reporting responsibilities and working hours in a current opening.

Skills & employers

From the sources
Skills to investigate
  • Medical terminology
  • Process discipline
  • Written communication
Employers named in sources
  • ICON
  • R.D. Gardi Medical College, Ujjain (PvPI AMC)
  • Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission
  • Syneos Health
  • ICON plc
Examples in cited pages, not a hiring list.
Study or credential needed
  • Under the NDCT Rules 2019 a company with a new drug must have a pharmacovigilance system managed by qualified and trained personnel, with the officer in charge a medical officer or a pharmacist trained in collecting and analysing adverse event reports.
    Show scopeScope:
    • Binding on the person/company importing or manufacturing a new drug, for the officer in charge.
    • Statute as amended to 18 Jan 2022.
    Note:
    • Applies to the officer in charge, not to every case-processing associate.
    • No named course, MedDRA certificate or registration is required for associates. 'Medical officer' is not defined here as MBBS only.
  • CDSCO's pharmacovigilance guidance for vaccine MAHs says the Pharmacovigilance Officer In-charge should be a medical or pharmacy professional trained in collecting and analysing AE reports.
    Show scopeScope:
    • Guidance (not a statute), for MAHs of human vaccines; refers to 2024 circulars.
    • Date of the document is not printed on the pages.
    Note:About the PVOIC role only. Does not require any certificate for associates. Vaccines only.

What employers ask for

8 sourced
    • The expired India listing describes a medical/science background, with nursing preferred, and/or a bachelor’s degree or local equivalent, plus 1–2 years of relevant experience.
    • Confirm exact degree acceptance with the employer.
    Source: ICON ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Expired ICON vacancy JR062863.
    • Historical work and experience example only; no live opening or exact-degree acceptance confirmed.
    • Essential: a Master degree in Pharmacy, Clinical Pharmacology, Pharmacy Practice or Clinical Research, OR Pharm. D / MBBS / BDS.
    • Desirable: 3-6 months working experience in drug safety/Pharmacovigilance.
    Names: M.Pharm, Pharm.D, MBBS, BDSSource: Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Rolling advertisement; the page says 'Last updated 10 October 2022'.
    • Engagement is through a manpower outsourcing agency on a contract of up to one year via GeM.
    • IPC's Careers page on 24 Oct 2026 did not list a Jr. Pharmacovigilance Associate notice (only an Editorial Assistant walk-in on 28.10.2026), so whether the post is open now is unknown.
    Show 3 more
    • The first route reads 'Master degree in Pharmacy, Clinical Pharmacology, Pharmacy Practice, and Clinical Research' (mapped to MPHARM).
    • Age: 'Not exceeding 28 years'.
    • Requirements 'may be relaxed in the case of candidates with outstanding credentials'.
    Not established:
    • B.Pharm, BAMS, BHMS, nursing and allied health are not named (neither included nor excluded by name).
    • Experience is 'Desirable' not mandatory.
  • Syneos Health's India Safety & PV Specialist I and II 'future roles' name B. Pharm, M. Pharm, BDS, BMS or MBBS and say 'No BSc / MSc'.
    Names: B.Pharm, M.Pharm, BDS, MBBSSource: Syneos Health ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Updated 25 Aug 2026, Job ID 25110715.
    • Specialist I: 'Minimum 2.6 Years to 4 Years'
    • Specialist II (Job ID 25111393, https://www.syneoshealth.com/clinical-corporate-careers/jobs/18084127-safety-and-pv-specialist-ii): 4 to 7 years.
    Show 2 more
    • Both say 'This posting is intended for a [possible] upcoming opportunity rather than a live role.'
    • Office based Gurugram-Hyderabad.
    Not established:'No BSc / MSc' excludes general science degrees; A pipeline posting, not a live vacancy. Not a fresher post.
Show 5 more
  • The PvPI Internship Programme 2026 is open to students pursuing or who have completed graduation or postgraduation in pharmaceutical, medical, dental, nursing, allied health sciences, or an M.Sc in clinical pharmacology or clinical research.
    Names: MBBS, BDS, B.Pharm, M.Pharm, Pharm.D, B.Sc Nursing, M.Sc Nursing, Other allied-health qualificationSource: Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:Last updated 21 Oct 2026; physical mode; last date of registration 31 Oct 2026.
    Not established:Does not state duration, stipend or fees in the notice; internship is not employment.
  • Syneos Health (Hyderabad and Gurgaon India) lists Safety & PV Specialist I and II pipeline posts and several other safety and PV posts, updated Aug-Oct 2026.
    Source: Syneos Health ↗
    Show scopeScope:Updated 25 Aug 2026. Other Syneos India safety posts on its Gurgaon search page include Safety & PV Specialist I (Literature review), Safety & PV Coordinator, and Manager - Safety & PV (ICSR).
    Not established:
    • The Hyderabad I/II posts are pipelines and need 2.6-7 years.
    • The 'Safety & PV Coordinator' page (Job ID 25112995) showed no readable responsibilities or qualifications.
  • The Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission recruits Jr. Pharmacovigilance Associates for PvPI through an outsourcing agency, and ADR Monitoring Centres at medical colleges recruit too (RDGMC Ujjain, 2025).
    Source: R.D. Gardi Medical College, Ujjain (PvPI AMC) ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Closed 10 May 2025. Same essential qualifications as IPC ad.
    • Duties: 'Collection of ADR Reports', 'Processing of Individual Case Safety Reports (ICSRs) and managing them in VigiFlow'.
    Not established:IPC's Careers page listed no open PvPI post on 24 Oct 2026.
    • ICON plc advertised Drug Safety Associate and Pharmacovigilance Associate posts in India (Chennai, Trivandrum)
    • those listed had expired by 24 Oct 2026.
    Source: ICON plc ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • JR152998 asked 'Bachelors degree in life sciences', 'Minimum 2 years of experience in safety background' and listed MedDRA and WHO-DD coding
    • also expired: JR062863, JR116188, JR122142 and the Drug Safety Associate Intern post.
    Not established:
    • Shows ICON hires PV staff in India, not that any is open now.
    • The Drug Safety Associate Intern page also says 'medical/science background' but gives no stipend or duration.
  • The IPC/PvPI post caps age at 28 and says experience, age or qualification minimums may be relaxed for candidates with outstanding credentials.
    Source: Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Rolling advertisement; the page says 'Last updated 10 October 2022'.
    • Engagement is through a manpower outsourcing agency on a contract of up to one year via GeM.
    • IPC's Careers page on 24 Oct 2026 did not list a Jr. Pharmacovigilance Associate notice (only an Editorial Assistant walk-in on 28.10.2026), so whether the post is open now is unknown.
    Not established:Age limit is per this notice only.

The work and what comes next

4 sourced
The work, from the sources
  • The historical ICON example covers preparing and checking safety-reporting documents and coordinating their submission.
    Source: ICON ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Expired ICON vacancy JR062863.
    • Historical work and experience example only; no live opening or exact-degree acceptance confirmed.
  • At Syneos Health an India Safety & PV Specialist I processes individual case safety reports: triage, database entry, coding with MedDRA, narratives and literature screening.
    Source: Syneos Health ↗
    Show scopeScope:Pipeline post, updated 25 Aug 2026.
    Not established:Not a fresher role.
What can come next
    • Syneos India safety track: Specialist I minimum 2.6 Years to 4 Years (page 18059119), Specialist II 4 years - 7 years (page 18084127).
    • The Manager - Safety & PV (ICSR) title is not shown on either page.
    Source: Syneos Health ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Two pipeline posts, Aug 2026
    • the Manager post listed on the Hyderabad and Gurgaon search pages was not checked.
    Not established:No promotion times stated.
  • The IPC/PvPI post is a short contract that can be ended at any time and renewed only on performance.
    Source: Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Rolling advertisement; the page says 'Last updated 10 October 2022'.
    • Engagement is through a manpower outsourcing agency on a contract of up to one year via GeM.
    • IPC's Careers page on 24 Oct 2026 did not list a Jr. Pharmacovigilance Associate notice (only an Editorial Assistant walk-in on 28.10.2026), so whether the post is open now is unknown. 'Initially the tenure of contract will be for a period up to one year through GeM, however the contract may be renewed further based on the performance of the applicant'.
    Not established:Does not describe private-sector employment terms.

Sources and unanswered questions

  • Expired ICON vacancy JR062863. Historical work and experience example only; no live opening or exact-degree acceptance confirmed.
  • Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
  • Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
  • ICON Drug Safety Associate JR062863 ↗ICON · accessed 21 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:Expired India vacancy; historical work and experience example, not a live opening or exact-degree eligibility confirmation.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • The New Drugs and Clinical Trials Rules, 2019 (as amended to GSR 21(E), 18-1-2022) ↗Central Drugs Standard Control Organization (CDSCO) · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Statute as published on CDSCO site, amended up to 18 Jan 2022.
    • The full text has no mention of 'coordinator'.
    • A later amendment may exist.
    Not established:
    • Does not set any qualification for coordinators or assistants.
    • It does not name ICH-GCP training for coordinators.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Notification: Jr. Pharmacovigilance Associate at AMC, RDGMC, Ujjain ↗R.D. Gardi Medical College, Ujjain (PvPI AMC) · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Notice closed 10 May 2025 (last date for receiving application 10.05.2025 5:00 pm).
    • One engagement 'initially for a period of one year'.
    Not established:Past notice, different centre from the IPC ad (26,250), so pay varies by centre/agency; not a 2026 figure.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Rolling advertisement for recruitment of Jr Pharmacovigilance Associate at PvPI ↗Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Rolling advertisement; the page says 'Last updated 10 October 2022'.
    • Engagement is through a manpower outsourcing agency on a contract of up to one year via GeM.
    • IPC's Careers page on 24 Oct 2026 did not list a Jr. Pharmacovigilance Associate notice (only an Editorial Assistant walk-in on 28.10.2026), so whether the post is open now is unknown.
    Show 3 more
    • The first route reads 'Master degree in Pharmacy, Clinical Pharmacology, Pharmacy Practice, and Clinical Research' (mapped to MPHARM).
    • Age: 'Not exceeding 28 years'.
    • Requirements 'may be relaxed in the case of candidates with outstanding credentials'. N
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Safety & PV Specialist I in Hyderabad ↗Syneos Health · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Updated 25 Aug 2026, Job ID 25110715.
    • Specialist I: 'Minimum 2.6 Years to 4 Years'
    • Specialist II (Job ID 25111393, https://www.syneoshealth.com/clinical-corporate-careers/jobs/18084127-safety-and-pv-specialist-ii): 4 to 7 years.
    Show 2 more
    • Both say 'This posting is intended for a [possible] upcoming opportunity rather than a live role.'
    • Office based Gurugram-Hyderabad.
    Not established:'No BSc / MSc' excludes general science degrees; A pipeline posting, not a live vacancy. Not a fresher
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Applications open:- PvPI Internship Programme 2026 ↗Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:Last updated 21 Oct 2026; physical mode; last date of registration 31 Oct 2026.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • CDSCO Pharmacovigilance guidance document for Marketing Authorization Holders of human vaccines (Pv-Guidancedoc24.pdf) ↗CDSCO · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Guidance (not a statute), for MAHs of human vaccines; refers to 2024 circulars.
    • Date of the document is not printed on the pages.
    Not established:About the PVOIC role only. Does not require any certificate for associates. Vaccines only.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Applications are invited for 39th Skill Development Programme on Pharmacovigilance ↗Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:39th programme only, online, five days.
    Not established:The notice does not say the programme is required by any employer or regulator, nor who may register.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Safety & PV Specialist I - Mandarin/Chinese Speaker ↗Syneos Health · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Post is language-specific, location IND-Remote, marked 'no longer active' (updated 6 Apr 2026).
    • Also says 'Flexibility may be required based on business needs; shift extensions may be necessary'.
    Not established:Not a general statement for all Syneos or all PV roles.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Pharmacovigilance Associate job in India, Chennai (JR152998) ↗ICON plc · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • JR152998 asked 'Bachelors degree in life sciences', 'Minimum 2 years of experience in safety background' and listed MedDRA and WHO-DD coding
    • also expired: JR062863, JR116188, JR122142 and the Drug Safety Associate Intern post.
    Not established:
    • Shows ICON hires PV staff in India, not that any is open now.
    • The Drug Safety Associate Intern page also says 'medical/science background' but gives no stipend or duration.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Safety & PV Specialist II in Hyderabad ↗Syneos Health · accessed 24 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Two pipeline posts, Aug 2026
    • the Manager post listed on the Hyderabad and Gurgaon search pages was not checked.
    Not established:No promotion times stated.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Your next step: Locate a current trainee safety role and confirm exact degree acceptance, experience, shift pattern and training arrangements.

A source names these qualifications for this profile: MBBS · Medicine, BDS · Dentistry, B.Pharm, M.Pharm, Pharm.D, B.Sc Nursing, M.Sc Nursing, Other allied-health qualification