Esc
Role to investigateSource-checked · reviewed 25 Oct 202610 sources cited

IT service desk (level 1 support)

Investigate entry-level IT service desk and application support roles, and what employers' own pages say about shifts, degrees and certifications.

At a glance

Checked 25 Oct 2026 · 10 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026

Cost, pay and hours

As sourced
  1. 1
    Extra cost3 sourced
      • Coursera charges INR 1888 per month for the Google IT Support Professional Certificate in India after a 7-day free trial
      • the page lists 3 months at 10 hours a week and no prior experience required.
      Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per month, after a 7-day free trial
      • the total depends on the months taken
      • taxes and later price changes are not stated
      Show scopeScope:India price on the page on 25 Oct 2026 (page also shows 'Now INR 1888/month').
      Note:No employer page checked requires or prefers this certificate.
      • AWS lists the Cloud Practitioner (Foundational) exam at USD 100
      • its pricing table prints ₹8,553 in the India column.
      Basis:
      • US dollars
      • per attempt
      • Foundational-level exam (Cloud Practitioner)
      • the page says prices are valid for one exam attempt and applicable taxes may apply
      Show scopeScope:Table as shown 25 Oct 2026; the INR figure is the one the table prints for Foundational exams.
      Note:
      • Does not say employers require it.
      • Foreign exchange updates mean the figure can change with 30 days' notice.
    Show 1 more
    • Cisco's CCNA (200-301) exam page lists the price as 300 US dollars or Cisco Learning Credits.Basis:
      • US dollars
      • per attempt
      • CCNA 200-301 exam as listed on the exam page
      • taxes, Pearson VUE fees and any India-specific price are not stated
      Note:No INR price.
  2. 2
    PayNot established
    No official source recorded.This site does not estimate pay.
  3. 3
    Shifts & hours4 sourced
    • Cognizant expects the Analyst Trainee to work in shifts from the office, and must be flexible about office location and shift timing.
      Show scopeScope:Cognizant Analyst Trainee, Service Desk, PAN India.
      Note:
      • Shift hours, rotation pattern, and weekend or on-call duty are not stated.
      • Work from home is not mentioned.
    • Cognizant lists a night shift allowance and cab facilities among the benefits of this role.
      Show scopeScope:Benefit list for this document.
      Note:The amount of the allowance is not stated. This is not a pay figure.
    Show 2 more
    • Accenture states 24x7 support with 9.5-hour rotational shifts.
      Show scopeScope:
      • Bengaluru, Service Desk Associate.
      • Same wording appears in RRN00017013.
      Note:Start and end times are not stated.
    • Accenture says the role is work from office, specifically during US/night shifts, including weekends and Indian public holidays as needed, on a five-day week with weekly offs set by roster.
      Show scopeScope:Bengaluru, Service Desk Associate.
      Note:Whether night shifts are every month or in rotation, and any allowance, are not stated.

Reality check

From the sources
The work
  • Cognizant says the Analyst Trainee is the first point of contact for end users reporting IT issues, and Accenture describes level 1 support through the IT service desk, mainly by voice with email, chat and remote desktop tools.
  • Skills named include ITSM ticketing tools, Microsoft 365 and basic networking.
  • Not established beyond these pages.
Entry requirements
  • Cognizant's 2026 document for its service desk trainee names BCA among 3-year UG degrees for 2025 and 2026 graduates and does not list B.E./B.Tech
  • HCLTech's campus page lists BCA for its Graduate Trainee track and B.E./B.Tech for its separate engineering track
  • Wipro's early-careers page names BCA and B.Sc for its work-and-study programme.
  • Accenture's Bengaluru post asks for 0 to 2 years of experience and 15 years of full-time education and names no degree.
Show 1 more
  • B.Tech is therefore shown as not named for these service desk pages, not as eligible.
Trade-offs to consider
  • The pages describe shift work from the office: Cognizant lists a night shift allowance, and Accenture's Bengaluru post states 24x7 support with 9.5-hour rotational shifts, including weekends and Indian public holidays as the roster needs.
  • No employer page read states pay, and none requires a certification
  • issuer fees for optional certificates are listed as printed.

Skills & employers

From the sources
Skills to investigate
  • Troubleshooting
  • Ticketing tools
  • Spoken and written English
Employers named in sources
  • HCLTech
  • Wipro
  • Cognizant
  • Accenture
Examples in cited pages, not a hiring list.
Study or credential needed
  • AWS describes the Cloud Practitioner exam as suitable for people who could have up to 6 months of exposure to AWS Cloud, and says this exposure is not required.
    Show scopeScope:Issuer statement about the exam, not about jobs.
    Note:No employer page checked names it.
    • CompTIA's A+ page recommends 12 months of hands-on experience in an IT support specialist job and says two exams are needed
    • its Network+ page recommends A+ plus 9 to 12 months of experience.
    • Both are 'recommended', not stated as prerequisites.
    Show scopeScope:A+ series 220-1201 (Core 1) page; Network+ N10-009.
    Note:Issuer recommendation only. No employer page checked requires A+ or Network+. No fee in the page text.

What employers ask for

8 sourced
  • Cognizant's 'Fresher hiring 2026' document for Analyst Trainee (Digital Workplace Practice) describes a Service Desk role with job location PAN India.
    Source: Cognizant ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Cognizant campus/fresher document for graduates of 2025 and 2026.
    • The document is hosted on an institute's website and was written by Cognizant.
    • Open or closed status not shown.
    Not established:
    • Not a live careers-page posting.
    • Does not say how many vacancies or when applications close.
    • Cognizant's 2026 fresher document for the Service Desk Analyst Trainee names 3-year UG degrees (BCA, B.Sc, BA, BBA, B.Voc, BMS, B.Com and others) for 2025 and 2026 graduates
    • B.E./B.Tech is not among the degrees it lists.
    Names: BCASource: Cognizant ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Analyst Trainee, Digital Workplace Practice, 2025 and 2026 graduating batches.
    • Also needs minimum 50% in X, XII, Diploma, UG.
    Not established:
    • B.Tech is not named and not explicitly excluded
    • the phrase '3-year UG degree' describes the eligible group, and a 4-year B.E./B.Tech is not a 3-year degree, but the document does not say so. MCA not named.
    • Batches 2027 onward not covered.
  • Cognizant excludes students currently enrolled in full-time postgraduate courses.
    Source: Cognizant ↗
    Show scopeScope:Same Cognizant document.
    Not established:Does not say whether a completed MCA holder is eligible.
Show 5 more
  • Accenture's Service Desk Associate post (Bengaluru) is Level 1 support through the IT service desk, mainly by voice, with email, chat and remote desktop tools.
    Source: Accenture ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • One of at least two near-identical Accenture Bengaluru posts (RRN00016474 and RRN00017013, id 14067478).
    • Open or closed status not shown.
    Not established:Does not name a degree. Not a fresher-only post (it asks for 0 to 2 years of experience).
    • Accenture's Service Desk Associate post asks for 0 to 2 years of experience in IT service desk or technical support and a minimum of 15 years of full-time education
    • it names no specific degree.
    Source: Accenture ↗
    Show scopeScope:Bengaluru, Service Desk Associate, both posts read.
    Not established:
    • The page does not say what degrees make up 15 years, so BCA and B.Tech are not named.
    • Do not infer eligibility from this line.
  • HCLTech's careers page for 'Campus-Beginner' describes a Graduate Trainee - Service Desk role in Noida, Uttar Pradesh.
    Source: HCLTech ↗
    Show scopeScope:One HCLTech posting, Noida. Open/closed status not shown.
    Not established:The page's 'Other Requirements' section is empty: no degree, shift, pay or experience is stated.
  • HCLTech's campus hiring page lists BCA among eligible degrees for its Graduate Trainee track, and B.E/B.TECH for its Graduate Engineer Trainee track.
    Names: BCA, B.TechSource: HCLTech ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • General campus page; Graduate Trainee roles listed as 'across Finance, HR, Tech Projects, Compliance'.
    • BTECH is from the separate engineering track on the same page; no branch wording there.
    Not established:
    • The page does not mention service desk.
    • It is not established that the Noida Graduate Trainee - Service Desk post uses this eligibility list.
  • Wipro's early-careers page says its WIMS (Wipro Infrastructure Management Services) and WASE programmes are for non-engineering graduates and offer BCA and B.Sc. graduates work with a sponsored M.Tech.
    Names: BCASource: Wipro ↗
    Show scopeScope:The same page's School of Infrastructure Management is for diploma holders, so it is not a BCA or B.Tech route.
    Not established:
    • Does not say which job (service desk, infrastructure or software) WIMS or WASE recruits do.
    • No pay, fee or shift stated;.

The work and what comes next

4 sourced
The work, from the sources
  • Cognizant says the Analyst Trainee is the first point of contact for end users reporting IT issues.
    Source: Cognizant ↗
    Show scopeScope:Cognizant Analyst Trainee only.
    Not established:Does not describe the tools used or the volume of calls.
  • Accenture's Service Desk Associate post lists experience with ITSM tools such as ServiceNow and BMC Remedy, and hands-on knowledge of Microsoft 365 and Active Directory.
    Source: Accenture ↗
    Show scopeScope:Bengaluru post. No certification named on the page.
    Not established:
    • Absence of a certification line does not mean certificates are unwelcome.
    • It does not say they are optional.
Show 1 more
  • HCLTech lists the skill requirement as basic understanding of operating systems, Microsoft 365, networking and IT support processes.
    Source: HCLTech ↗
    Show scopeScope:HCLTech Graduate Trainee - Service Desk, Noida.
    Not established:No certification is named.
What can come next
  • Cognizant offers sponsored higher education from BITS Pilani, but only to candidates from a Science, Technology and Mathematics background.
    Source: Cognizant ↗
    Show scopeScope:As printed in this document; the document also says 'No Service bonds.'.
    Not established:Does not say which BCA graduates count as Science, Technology and Mathematics background, nor the fee or course terms. Not a promotion path.

Sources and unanswered questions

  • Employer pages from Cognizant, Accenture, HCLTech and Wipro, read on 25 October 2026 · India · service desk (level 1) roles only; entry-level network, system administration and cloud operations posts were not found.
  • Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
  • Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
  • Campus Hiring & Recruitment : Supercharge Your Tech Career | HCLTech ↗HCLTech · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Undated evergreen page, checked on 25 Oct 2026.
    • Role named: Graduate Engineer Trainee.
    Not established:
    • Graduation years accepted or whether a drive is open now; neither is on the page.
    • The page does not say these trainees write code.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Early Careers at Wipro | Wipro Careers ↗Wipro · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:No eligibility, pay or role title is printed on this page.
    Not established:Elite's actual degree, percentage or backlog rules or that it is a developer role.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Fresher hiring 2026 - Analyst Trainee (Digital Workplace Practice) ↗Cognizant · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Cognizant campus/fresher document for graduates of 2025 and 2026.
    • The document is hosted on an institute's website and was written by Cognizant.
    • Open or closed status not shown.
    Not established:
    • Not a live careers-page posting.
    • Does not say how many vacancies or when applications close.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • RRN00016474 - Service Desk Associate ↗Accenture · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • One of at least two near-identical Accenture Bengaluru posts (RRN00016474 and RRN00017013, id 14067478).
    • Open or closed status not shown.
    Not established:Does not name a degree. Not a fresher-only post (it asks for 0 to 2 years of experience).
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Campus-Beginner Job Details ↗HCLTech · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:One HCLTech posting, Noida. Open/closed status not shown.
    Not established:The page's 'Other Requirements' section is empty: no degree, shift, pay or experience is stated.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Google IT Support Professional Certificate ↗Coursera (Google Career Certificates) · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:India price on the page on 25 Oct 2026 (page also shows 'Now INR 1888/month').
    Not established:No employer page checked requires or prefers this certificate.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Before Testing - AWS Certification policies ↗Amazon Web Services · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:Table as shown 25 Oct 2026; the INR figure is the one the table prints for Foundational exams.
    Not established:
    • Does not say employers require it.
    • Foreign exchange updates mean the figure can change with 30 days' notice.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner ↗Amazon Web Services · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:Issuer statement about the exam, not about jobs.
    Not established:No employer page checked names it.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • CompTIA A+ certification ↗CompTIA · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:A+ series 220-1201 (Core 1) page; Network+ N10-009.
    Not established:Issuer recommendation only. No employer page checked requires A+ or Network+. No fee in the page text.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • 200-301 CCNA - Implementing and Administering Cisco Solutions ↗Cisco · accessed 25 Oct 2026Not established:No INR price.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Your next step: Read two employers' current service desk pages and note the shift pattern, the degrees named and whether any certification is asked for.

A source names these qualifications for this profile: B.Tech, BCA · Computer applications