Esc
Role to investigateSource-checked · reviewed 25 Oct 20269 sources cited

Software developer or tester, entry level

Investigate entry-level software developer and test engineer roles at IT services employers, and what their own hiring pages say about eligibility, hours and pay.

At a glance

Checked 25 Oct 2026 · 9 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026

Cost, pay and hours

As sourced
  1. 1
    Extra costNot established
    No official, current cost is recorded. Check the programme or credential provider.
  2. 2
    Pay4 sourced
      • TCS's NQT page prints offer ranges by category.
      • For the UG column with 0 to 1 year of experience it shows Prime at 9.09 to 9.30 LPA and Digital at 7.09 to 7.30 LPA.
      Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per year
      • CTC range per offer category, as headed on the page
      Show scopeScope:
      • NQT 2026 cycle, Prime and Digital categories only.
      • The table header says UG and PG without defining them on the page.
      Note:
      • Take-home pay, pay for Ninja, or whether B.Tech is what 'UG' means here.
      • These are not entry-level Ninja figures.
      • The page footnote says actual compensation is based on relevant work experience and job location, and the components of CTC are not broken down.
    • TCS states a minimum CTC for a Ninja offer of Rs 3.4 LPA for a UG student and Rs 3.6 LPA for a PG student.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per year
      • Minimum CTC for a Ninja candidate
      Show scopeScope:
      • NQT 2026 cycle, Ninja category.
      • FAQ also says internship experience is not considered for salary fitment.
      Note:What most Ninja hires actually receive; it is a stated minimum.
    Show 2 more
    • HCLTech AMP Ascend offers are Rs 3.75 LPA at Lucknow, Nagpur, Vijayawada and Madurai and Rs 4.50 LPA elsewhere.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per year
      • Ascend level salary for AMP candidates, by posting location
      Show scopeScope:AMP Ascend level, undated page.
      Note:
      • Take-home pay or pay for roles outside AMP.
      • The page does not say whether this is CTC, fixed pay or gross.
    • HCLTech says the top 10% of Ascend candidates after further assessment can upgrade to Momentum at Rs 6.0 LPA or Polaris at Rs 10.0 LPA.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per year
      • Upgrade levels for the top 10% of Ascend candidates
      Show scopeScope:AMP upgrade tiers; a minority outcome by the page's own wording.
      Note:That a typical fresher reaches Momentum or Polaris.
  3. 3
    Shifts & hours2 sourced
    • Mphasis's hiring FAQ says working hours are generally 9 hours, with different shifts depending on the project or position.
      Show scopeScope:General employee FAQ; not a fresher or developer-specific page.
      Note:Developer shifts, or any fresher programme: the Mphasis campus page checked names no degrees or eligibility rules.
    • The Wipro listing states day shift with five days a week working from office.
      Show scopeScope:
      • This listing only, Gurugram.
      • The listing also says 'Both Side Cabs Depend upon Adress should be in Hiring Zone.'.
      Note:
      • Hours per day, weekend or on-call work.
      • The cab line refers to a hiring zone; its terms (who pays) are not stated.

Reality check

From the sources
The work
  • Not established beyond what each cited page says.
  • One Wipro trainee listing says the tester prepares test cases and test data and runs tests under direction, and TCS and HCLTech describe the kind of projects their hires join.
  • The other pages cited describe hiring, not daily work.
Entry requirements
  • The employer pages cited name B.E./B.Tech for developer roles: TCS's NQT page lists B.Tech/B.E., M.Tech/M.E., MCA and M.Sc/M.S, HCLTech's freshers site names B.E./B.Tech and M.E./M.Tech, and one Wipro tester listing names B.Tech/BE (CS, IT, ECE) and MCA.
  • BCA is named by TCS BSc Ignite, a separate programme for BCA, B.Sc and B.Voc graduates
  • it is not listed on the NQT page.
  • Percentage rules differ (TCS NQT 60%, TCS BSc Ignite 50%, HCLTech AMP 70%, or 65% at four named locations) and several pages bar pending backlogs.
Show 1 more
  • Most cycles shown are closed, so check each employer's current page.
Trade-offs to consider
  • Offers are printed as tiers or ranges, not one figure: TCS prints Prime, Digital and Ninja offers, and HCLTech prints an entry tier with an upgrade for the top 10% after further assessment.
  • Service terms differ: Cognizant's GenC page says there are no service bonds, while one Wipro tester listing states a 12-month service agreement.
  • Some software engineer listings ask for experience, for example one Amazon listing asks for 1+ years.
  • The pay figures are employers' own stated offers for a programme, not what any group of students received.

Skills & employers

From the sources
Skills to investigate
  • Programming fundamentals
  • Aptitude and coding tests
  • English communication
Employers named in sources
  • Tata Consultancy Services
  • HCLTech
  • Wipro
  • Cognizant
  • Amazon
  • Mphasis
Examples in cited pages, not a hiring list.
Study or credential neededNot established. Required versus optional credentials must be checked for the specific employer or programme.

What employers ask for

21 sourced
    • TCS runs an all-India NQT hiring drive for the 2024, 2025 and 2026 batches, with Prime, Digital and Ninja offer categories
    • registration for this cycle is shown as closed.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • TCS NQT cycle, test from 10 March 2026, registration closed per the page.
    • Role categories Prime, Digital, Ninja.
    Not established:
    • Whether a newer NQT cycle exists was not shown on this page.
    • The page does not list job titles such as Software Developer; it names offer categories.
  • The TCS NQT page names B.Tech/B.E., M.Tech/M.E., MCA and M.Sc/M.S in any specialization as the only qualifications open for the 2024-2026 batches; BCA is not listed.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • B.Tech/B.E. 'in any specialization offered by AICTE/UGC recognized universities/colleges' (branch wording as printed).
    • BCA exclusion is by omission from an 'exclusively open to' list, not an explicit sentence.
    Not established:
    • That any B.Tech branch is hired into software development roles
    • the page says any specialization is eligible to apply.
  • TCS NQT requires a minimum aggregate of 60% or equivalent CGPA across class 10, 12, diploma, graduation and post-graduation.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:NQT 2026 cycle (closed).
    Not established:Cut-offs for later cycles.
Show 18 more
  • For a selected NQT candidate the offer is valid only if the degree certificate states First-Class engineering within the course duration.
    Names: B.TechSource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:NQT 2026 cycle. Wording is about 'Engineering'; it does not say how MCA is treated.
    Not established:Whether a degree issued as a percentage or grade without the words First Class is accepted.
  • TCS NQT allows no pending backlog at the time of the selection process.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:NQT 2026 cycle.
    Not established:That cleared past backlogs are treated the same; the page also bars extended education.
  • TCS NQT caps the overall academic gap at 24 months and the age at 18 to 28.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:NQT 2026 cycle. The same section says candidates with up to 2 years of work experience can apply.
    Not established:How gaps are counted for candidates who retook a year.
    • The TCS NQT has a Foundation section and an Advanced section
    • the Advanced section is mandatory for candidates who want a Digital or Prime offer.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:NQT 2026 cycle; test is in-centre, 190 minutes, two sections.
    Not established:That any certification (Java, cloud etc.) is preferred; none is mentioned on this page.
    • TCS says it does not ask candidates for money at any stage of recruitment
    • no test fee is printed on the NQT page.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:Recruitment process for NQT 2026.
    Not established:Cost of preparation, travel to a TCS iON test centre, or any later joining costs.
  • TCS BSc Ignite Hiring for the batch of 2026 is an employer programme for BCA and B.Sc/B.Voc graduates leading into the TCS Ignite 'Science to Software' programme.
    Names: BCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Batch of 2026. The page text did not show a registration open/closed status
    • TCS entry-level page lists 'TCS BSc Ignite Hiring 2026' as current.
    Not established:
    • The job title after training.
    • The page says Ignite is a 'Science to Software' programme and that career paths parallel engineering graduates, but gives no title or pay.
    • Whether a 2027-batch Ignite drive exists was not found.
  • TCS BSc Ignite names 3-year full-time BCA, B.Sc (IT, CS, Maths, Data Science, Statistics, Physics, Chemistry, Electronics, Cybersecurity, Biochemistry) and B.Voc (CS/IT) graduates of 2026 as eligible.
    Names: BCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:Batch of 2026, 3-year full-time degrees only.
    Not established:That B.Tech or MCA graduates can use this route; they are not named on this page (they use NQT).
  • TCS BSc Ignite requires 50% aggregate in class 10, 12, diploma and graduation, and no backlog at the time of the selection process.
    Names: BCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:Batch of 2026. Also: overall gap not above 24 months, age 18 to 28 (same section).
    Not established:Cut-offs for later batches.
  • TCS states it charges no fees at any stage of the BSc Ignite recruitment process.
    Names: BCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:Recruitment process for batch of 2026.
    Not established:Travel or accommodation cost for the in-centre test.
  • HCLTech's campus hiring page describes a Graduate Engineer Trainee route for engineering graduates and the AMP merit-based fresher programme.
    Names: B.TechSource: HCLTech ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Undated evergreen page, checked on 25 Oct 2026.
    • Role named: Graduate Engineer Trainee.
    Not established:
    • Graduation years accepted or whether a drive is open now; neither is on the page.
    • The page does not say these trainees write code.
    • HCLTech's freshers site names B.E./B.Tech and M.E./M.Tech (CSE, IT, EEE, ECE, Mechanical, Bio-Medical, Biotechnology etc.) for its technical roles
    • BCA and MCA are not named there.
    Names: B.TechSource: HCLTech ↗
    Show scopeScope:Technical Roles category. Branch wording as printed, including non-computing branches.
    Not established:That BCA or MCA graduates are rejected for technical roles; they are simply not named.
  • HCLTech's AMP programme asks for 70% throughout academics (class 10, 12, graduation), or 65% for Lucknow, Nagpur, Vijayawada and Madurai, with an engineering degree in any branch.
    Names: B.TechSource: HCLTech ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • AMP, fresh engineering graduates, on- or off-campus.
    • 65% applies to the four named locations; the 70% rule applies to all other locations.
    Not established:Backlog rule or graduation year; neither is stated.
    • HCLTech's Ascend test includes a Versant English speaking and listening test
    • a score of 46-56 (B1 level) is required to qualify.
    Names: B.TechSource: HCLTech ↗
    Show scopeScope:Ascend test for AMP. Only candidates who clear the cognitive and coding tests proceed to Versant, per the page.
    Not established:Any external certification requirement; none is mentioned.
  • HCLTech says it never asks for recruitment fees.
    Names: B.TechSource: HCLTech ↗
    Show scopeScope:Recruitment.
    Not established:Cost of pre-joining training or of the assessments.
  • Wipro's Early Careers page describes Elite as its technical graduate hiring programme for newly graduated engineers.
    Names: B.TechSource: Wipro ↗
    Show scopeScope:no eligibility, pay or role title on this page.
    Not established:Elite's actual degree, percentage or backlog rules or that it is a developer role.
  • Wipro posted (23 Oct 2026) a Graduate Engineer Trainee listing in Gurugram for a Manual Tester role.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Wipro ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • One Gurugram listing, band AA, posting start date 10/23/26 as printed.
    • The testing is for Wipro's Total Benefit Administration (TBA) system.
    Not established:
    • That Wipro hires freshers as testers generally; this is one listing for one client system.
    • The role is also described as 'Graduate Trainee Engineer (Backend)' and includes configuration work.
  • The Wipro listing names B.Tech/BE (CS, IT and ECE) and MCA pass-outs only.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Wipro ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Branch wording: 'CS, IT and ECE'.
    • BCA is excluded by 'pass out only', not by a separate sentence.
    Not established:Percentage, backlog or graduating year rules; none is printed.
  • A Wipro Graduate Engineer Trainee posting for a manual tester in Gurugram requires a B.Tech/BE degree in CS, IT or ECE, or an MCA, and states a Gate assessment before the interview.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Wipro ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • One posting: Graduate Trainee Engineer, manual testing and backend, Gurugram, 12-month service agreement.
    • The posting does not ask for a certification
    • its only certification mention is post-hire upskilling under a quality goal.
    Not established:
    • Does not apply to other Wipro programmes or locations.
    • Does not say 'Gate Assessment' is the GATE exam
    • the posting only says 'Gate Assessment before Interview'.

The work and what comes next

10 sourced
The work, from the sources
  • TCS describes Ninja-category work as application development and maintenance, Digital as solution development and integration, and Prime as complex projects with advanced technologies.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:NQT 2026 cycle categories.
    Not established:
    • Day-to-day tasks, shifts or location
    • the page lets candidates pick 3 preferred job cities but says nothing on shifts.
  • TCS describes Ignite as an immersive training programme bridging academic knowledge and industry IT skills, run through the in-person Initial Learning Program.
    Names: BCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Ignite programme, batch of 2026.
    • ILP page separately says ILP is a 'robust, in-person training program aimed at equipping fresh graduates' at https://www.tcs.com/careers/india/tcs-initial-learning-program.
    Not established:Training length, location or whether a stipend is paid; none is stated on either page.
Show 2 more
  • HCLTech says technical-role hires carry out enhancements to existing applications and develop and implement new ones.
    Names: B.TechSource: HCLTech ↗Not established:Languages, team, shift or location.
  • Wipro says the trainee prepares test cases and test data and executes tests under direction, and also configures the TBA system.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Wipro ↗
    Show scopeScope:This listing.
    Not established:Typical tester work across other employers.
What can come next
  • TCS says Ignite hires can pursue postgraduate study through curated programmes at top Indian universities, with its Initial Learning Program contributing 50% toward academic credit.
    Names: BCASource: Tata Consultancy Services ↗
    Show scopeScope:Ignite programme only.
    Not established:Who pays for the postgraduate programme or what it costs; not stated.
  • HCLTech says candidates hired from non-Primus colleges or through off-campus drives must do mandatory pre-joining training and clear a post-training assessment.
    Names: B.TechSource: HCLTech ↗
    Show scopeScope:AMP, non-Primus and off-campus hires.
    Not established:Length of training, whether it is paid, or whether the candidate bears its cost; none is stated.
Show 4 more
  • HCLTech says Graduate Engineer Trainees can advance to Senior Engineer, Technical Lead, Project Manager and beyond.
    Names: B.TechSource: HCLTech ↗
    Show scopeScope:Employer's own statement; no timelines.
    Not established:How long promotion takes or how many are promoted.
  • Cognizant's GenC page for India states the programme has no service bonds.
    Source: Cognizant ↗
    Show scopeScope:GenC programme, India. The page names no degrees, branches, percentages, pay, shifts or location.
    Not established:
    • That individual offers carry no notice-period or training-cost terms.
    • The page also says drives are designed 'for specific streams, roles and batches' and that role/location choice 'may not always be possible'.
  • Amazon India's Software Development Engineer I listing in Hyderabad asks for 1+ years of non-internship professional software development experience.
    Source: Amazon ↗
    Show scopeScope:One Hyderabad listing, Amazon Pay team.
    Not established:
    • Amazon's new-graduate hiring in India; this listing is not an entry route for a fresher.
    • The posting date comes from Amazon's own listing feed, not the page text.
  • The Wipro listing states a 12-month service agreement.
    Names: B.Tech, MCASource: Wipro ↗
    Show scopeScope:This listing only.
    Not established:The penalty for leaving early, or whether other Wipro programmes carry a bond.

Sources and unanswered questions

  • Employer hiring pages from TCS, HCLTech, Wipro, Cognizant and others, read on 25 October 2026 · India · single batches, several already closed.
  • Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
  • Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
  • TCS All India NQT Hiring Batch of 2024, 2025 and 2026 ↗Tata Consultancy Services · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • TCS NQT cycle, test from 10 March 2026, registration closed per the page.
    • Role categories Prime, Digital, Ninja.
    Not established:
    • Whether a newer NQT cycle exists was not shown on this page.
    • The page does not list job titles such as Software Developer; it names offer categories.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • TCS BSC Ignite Hiring 2026 ↗Tata Consultancy Services · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Batch of 2026. The page text did not show a registration open/closed status
    • TCS entry-level page lists 'TCS BSc Ignite Hiring 2026' as current.
    Not established:
    • The job title after training.
    • The page says Ignite is a 'Science to Software' programme and that career paths parallel engineering graduates, but gives no title or pay.
    • Whether a 2027-batch Ignite drive exists was not found.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Campus Hiring & Recruitment : Supercharge Your Tech Career | HCLTech ↗HCLTech · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Undated evergreen page, checked on 25 Oct 2026.
    • Role named: Graduate Engineer Trainee.
    Not established:
    • Graduation years accepted or whether a drive is open now; neither is on the page.
    • The page does not say these trainees write code.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • FAQ | HCLTech ↗HCLTech · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:Technical Roles category. Branch wording as printed, including non-computing branches.
    Not established:That BCA or MCA graduates are rejected for technical roles; they are simply not named.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Early Careers at Wipro | Wipro Careers ↗Wipro · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:No eligibility, pay or role title is printed on this page.
    Not established:Elite's actual degree, percentage or backlog rules or that it is a developer role.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Generation Cognizant (GenC) Program | Cognizant Careers ↗Cognizant · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:GenC programme, India. The page names no degrees, branches, percentages, pay, shifts or location.
    Not established:
    • That individual offers carry no notice-period or training-cost terms.
    • The page also says drives are designed 'for specific streams, roles and batches' and that role/location choice 'may not always be possible'.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Software Development Engineer I - Job ID: 10580013 | Amazon.jobs ↗Amazon · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:One Hyderabad listing, Amazon Pay team.
    Not established:
    • Amazon's new-graduate hiring in India; this listing is not an entry route for a fresher.
    • The posting date comes from Amazon's own listing feed, not the page text.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) | Careers at Mphasis ↗Mphasis · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:General employee FAQ; not a fresher or developer-specific page.
    Not established:Developer shifts, or any fresher programme: the Mphasis campus page checked names no degrees or eligibility rules.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Graduate Engineer Trainee Job Details | Wipro Limited ↗Wipro · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • One Gurugram listing, band AA, posting start date 10/23/26 as printed.
    • The testing is for Wipro's Total Benefit Administration (TBA) system.
    Not established:
    • That Wipro hires freshers as testers generally; this is one listing for one client system.
    • The role is also described as 'Graduate Trainee Engineer (Backend)' and includes configuration work.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Your next step: Pick two employers, read their current hiring page, and compare the degrees named, the percentage rule, the assessment and any service agreement.

A source names these qualifications for this profile: B.Tech, BCA · Computer applications, MCA · Computer applications