Further studySource-checked · reviewed 31 Oct 20267 sources cited
B.Sc admission after Class 12
Look at how admission to a B.Sc. works after Class 12: the national CUET (UG) test, the IISER Aptitude Test, IISc's Bachelor of Science (Research), and what Delhi University states for its own B.Sc. programmes.
At a glance
- For youChoose a qualificationChoose your degree on the Explore page to see what the sources say for you.
- Cost8 sourcedThe CUET (UG) 2026 fee for up to 3 subjects was 1000 rupees for General (UR), and 400 rupees for each additional subject.
- Stipend1 statementDST INSPIRE-SHE pays a selected science undergraduate 5,000 rupees per month (60,000 rupees a year), plus a 20,000 rupee yearly…
- Timetable3 sourcedINSPIRE-SHE continues only if the scholar keeps a minimum of 60% marks (or 7.0 GPA) in B.Sc. or M.Sc. exams.
- Admission15 sourcedThe brochure says IISER fee structures differ from one IISER to another and points readers to each IISER.
Checked 31 Oct 2026 · 7 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026
Cost, pay and hours
- 1Extra cost8 sourced
- The CUET (UG) 2026 fee for up to 3 subjects was 1000 rupees for General (UR), and 400 rupees for each additional subject.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- CUET (UG) 2026 application fee for up to 3 subjects (languages, domain subjects, General Aptitude Test)
- NTA test fee only
- excludes Bank or payment-gateway charges and GST
- any university application, counselling or tuition fee
- fee for the CUET (UG) 2027 cycle
Note:Not the fee for any other category, nor the CUET (UG) 2027 fee (no 2027 bulletin was on cuet.nta.nic.in on 31 Oct 2026). Not a university fee.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- General (UR) candidates in India, CUET (UG) 2026.
- Cycle: CUET (UG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
- The CUET (UG) 2026 fee for up to 3 subjects was 900 rupees for OBC-NCL and EWS candidates, and 375 rupees for each additional subject.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- CUET (UG) 2026 application fee for up to 3 subjects (languages, domain subjects, General Aptitude Test)
- NTA test fee only
- excludes Bank or payment-gateway charges and GST
- any university application, counselling or tuition fee
- fee for the CUET (UG) 2027 cycle
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- OBC-NCL (central list) and EWS candidates in India, CUET (UG) 2026.
- Cycle: CUET (UG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
- Not a university fee; not the 2027 fee.
- State-list OBC candidates who are not OBC-NCL (Central List) must choose General per the bulletin footnote.
Show 6 moreShow fewer
- The CUET (UG) 2026 fee for up to 3 subjects was 800 rupees for SC, ST, PwD, PwBD and Third gender candidates, and 350 rupees for each additional subject.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- CUET (UG) 2026 application fee for up to 3 subjects (languages, domain subjects, General Aptitude Test)
- NTA test fee only
- excludes Bank or payment-gateway charges and GST
- any university application, counselling or tuition fee
- fee for the CUET (UG) 2027 cycle
Note:Not a university fee; not the 2027 fee.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- SC/ST/PwD/PwBD/Third gender candidates in India, CUET (UG) 2026.
- Cycle: CUET (UG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
- The IAT 2026 application fee was 2,000 rupees for General, EWS, OBC and OBC-NCL applicants.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- IAT 2026 application fee, paid with the online application form
- excludes Seat Acceptance Fee, IISER tuition and hostel fees, bank charges
- the IAT 2027 fee
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IAT 2026 application fee, General/EWS/OBC/OBC-NCL.
- Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026.
- Not the fee for IAT 2027 (no 2027 brochure was found).
- The extracted brochure text lost the rupee symbol but spells the amount as Rupees.
- The IAT 2026 application fee was 1,000 rupees for PwD, Kashmiri Migrants, Kashmiri Pandit/Hindu (non-migrant) families in the Kashmir Valley and SC/ST applicants.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- IAT 2026 application fee, paid with the online application form
- excludes Seat Acceptance Fee, IISER tuition and hostel fees, bank charges
- the IAT 2027 fee
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IAT 2026 application fee for PwD, Kashmiri Migrant, Kashmiri Pandit/Kashmiri Hindu families (non-migrants) living in the Kashmir Valley, and SC/ST applicants.
- Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026.
- Not the IAT 2027 fee. The quote is the end of the bullet that names the categories
- the amount is stated at its start in the same bullet.
- After an IISER offer, the Seat Acceptance Fee was 35,000 rupees for General, EWS, OBC, OBC-NCL, PwD and Kashmiri categories, including a 10,000 rupee non-refundable administrative fee.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- Seat Acceptance Fee paid after an offer of admission at an IISER
- adjusted against first-semester fee once registered
- excludes Full tuition and hostel fees, which differ by IISER
Note:Not the tuition fee; the brochure says it is adjusted against the first-semester fee.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IAT 2026 admission cycle, categories General/EWS/OBC/OBC-NCL/PwD/KM/Kashmiri Pandit/Kashmiri Hindu families (non-migrants).
- Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026.
- After an IISER offer, the Seat Acceptance Fee was 17,500 rupees for SC/ST candidates, including a 5,000 rupee non-refundable administrative fee.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- one-off
- Seat Acceptance Fee paid after an offer of admission at an IISER
- adjusted against first-semester fee once registered
- excludes Full tuition and hostel fees, which differ by IISER
Note:Not the tuition fee.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IAT 2026 admission cycle, SC/ST categories.
- Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026.
- IISc lists the annual tuition fee for its B.Sc.
- (Research) as 80,000 rupees for General/OBC/EWS and fully waived for SC/ST/PwD, academic year 2026-27.
- Indian rupees
- per year
- Annual tuition fee, IISc B.Sc. (Research), 2026-27
- excludes Gymkhana, other academic fees, deposits, hostel and mess charges
Note:Not a total cost; not later years; hostel and mess charges are not shown on this page.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IISc B.Sc. (Research), academic year 2026-27, tuition line only.
- Cycle: Academic year 2026-27.
- The CUET (UG) 2026 fee for up to 3 subjects was 1000 rupees for General (UR), and 400 rupees for each additional subject.Basis:
- 2Pay1 sourced
- DST INSPIRE-SHE pays a selected science undergraduate 5,000 rupees per month (60,000 rupees a year), plus a 20,000 rupee yearly mentorship grant.Basis:
- Indian rupees
- per month
- INSPIRE-SHE scholarship for a selected scholar
- the FAQ says the award is valued at 80,000/- a year in total
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Selected INSPIRE-SHE scholars at B.Sc./B.S./Int. M.Sc./Int. M.S. level.
- The FAQ is undated and names no batch.
- Cycle: Undated FAQ; batch not stated.
- Does not say how many scholars a given batch has beyond the "12,000" in Q.1, or what the current batch amount is
- the page does not state a date.
- The scholarship is awarded on top-1% Class XII marks or listed exam ranks, so most B.Sc. students do not get it.
Show 1 moreShow fewer
- Excludes Any other scholarship (the FAQ says scholars may not hold another).
- DST INSPIRE-SHE pays a selected science undergraduate 5,000 rupees per month (60,000 rupees a year), plus a 20,000 rupee yearly mentorship grant.Basis:
- 3Timetable & attendance3 sourced
- INSPIRE-SHE continues only if the scholar keeps a minimum of 60% marks (or 7.0 GPA) in B.Sc. or M.Sc. exams.Note:the FAQ elsewhere says "GPA < 7.0 (on a 10-point scale)" is below the bar.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- INSPIRE-SHE continuation rule.
- Cycle: Undated FAQ; batch not stated.
- IISc says its Promotional Fellowship (IIScP) is discontinued for students admitted from 2026-27 onwards.Note:The page lists several named donor fellowships; it states no amounts in the text read.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IISc B.Sc. (Research) students admitted from 2026-27.
- Cycle: Page checked on 31 Oct 2026.
Show 1 moreShow fewer
- IAT ranks do not guarantee a seat.Note:The sentence continues "admission to an IISER" on the next line.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:IAT 2026. Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026.
- INSPIRE-SHE continues only if the scholar keeps a minimum of 60% marks (or 7.0 GPA) in B.Sc. or M.Sc. exams.
Reality check
The work
- Not established beyond what each body prints about its programmes: the IISERs offer 5-year BS-MS programmes in science, IISc a four-year Bachelor of Science (Research), and Delhi University B.Sc. (Hons.) and B.Sc. (Prog.) streams.
- The day-to-day study and what graduates go on to do are not shown by these pages.
Entry requirements
- This route starts after Class 12.
- NTA's CUET (UG) 2026 bulletin leaves programme eligibility and subject combinations to each university, and Delhi University requires CUET in the subject combination named for the programme.
- The IISERs admit through the IISER Aptitude Test (IAT), and IISc admits on JEE Advanced or IAT merit.
- Only Delhi University's own B.Sc. rules were checked among universities, so other universities may differ.
Trade-offs to consider
- A test score or rank is not a seat: NTA says appearing in CUET (UG) does not by itself entitle a candidate to a programme, and the IAT brochure says ranks do not guarantee a seat.
- IISc says its Promotional Fellowship is discontinued for students admitted from 2026-27, and the DST INSPIRE-SHE scholarship continues only while the scholar keeps a minimum of 60% marks.
Skills & employers
Skills to investigate
- Class 12 science subjects
- Entrance test preparation
Institutions named in sources
- IISERs, Joint Admissions Committee 2026 (organised by IISER Berhampur)
- Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore
- University of Delhi
Study or credential needed
- CUET (UG) 2026 is for undergraduate admission to Central Universities and other participating institutions
- admission rules sit with each university.
Note:Show scopeHide scope
Scope:CUET (UG) 2026. Cycle: CUET (UG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.- Does not state any B.Sc. subject or marks rule; that is set by each university.
- Whether CUET is mandatory depends on the university.
- The bulletin says appearing in CUET (UG) does not by itself entitle a candidate to be considered for a programme.Note:The rest of the sentence ties admission to programme-wise eligibility of the university.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:CUET (UG) 2026. Cycle: CUET (UG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
How admission works
- The brochure says IISER fee structures differ from one IISER to another and points readers to each IISER.Source: IISERs, Joint Admissions Committee 2026 (organised by IISER Berhampur) ↗Not established:It states no tuition amount;.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:IAT 2026 cycle. Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026. - INSPIRE-SHE eligibility on marks is the top 1% of Class XII aggregate on any State or Central board, with the student studying a basic or natural science at B.Sc., B.S. or Int. M.Sc./M.S. level.Names: B.ScSource: Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India, INSPIRE programme ↗Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:INSPIRE-SHE; FAQ undated. Cycle: Undated FAQ; batch not stated.- Does not state the cut-off marks.
- Q.2 (b) and (c) give other routes (JEE rank, AIPMT rank, Integrated M.S.).
- INSPIRE-SHE does not cover Biotechnology, Computer Science, Computer Applications, Bioinformatics, Information Technology, Economics-type or distance-mode courses.Source: Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India, INSPIRE programme ↗Not established:Not every B.Sc. subject qualifies for this scholarship.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- INSPIRE-SHE scope of subjects
- the supported list is Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Biology, Statistics, Geology, Astrophysics, Astronomy, Electronics, Botany, Zoology, Biochemistry, Anthropology, Microbiology, Geophysics, Geochemistry, Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences.
- Cycle: Undated FAQ; batch not stated.
Show 12 moreShow fewer
- INSPIRE-SHE applicants must be aged 17 to 22.Source: Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India, INSPIRE programme ↗Not established:Does not say whether the age is counted at application or at admission.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:INSPIRE-SHE. Cycle: Undated FAQ; batch not stated. - IAT 2026 was the only channel of admission to IISER BS-MS, BS and B.Tech programmes for 2026-27.Source: IISERs, Joint Admissions Committee 2026 (organised by IISER Berhampur) ↗Not established:A rank does not guarantee a seat: the brochure says getting a rank "does not guarantee an offer".
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:IISER admissions 2026-27. Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026. - Source: Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore ↗
- IISc admits Indian-national B.Sc.
- (Research) students on merit in JEE Advanced 2026 or the IISER Aptitude Test 2026
- there is no separate IISc entrance test on the page.
Not established:Does not say how rank is turned into an offer; counselling rounds are on the Important Dates page.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IISc B.Sc. (Research), 2026 admissions
- the two exams listed on the page are "JEE Advanced 2026" and "IISER Aptitude Test (IAT) 2026".
- Cycle: Admissions 2026 (academic year 2026-27).
- University of Delhi required candidates to appear in CUET (UG) 2026 in the subject combination named for the programme.Source: University of Delhi ↗Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- University of Delhi 2026-27 UG admissions.
- Cycle: UG admissions 2026-27 through CUET (UG) 2026.
- It names CUET subjects, not Class XII subjects
- the bulletin separately requires candidates to appear in the CUET subjects they studied in Class XII.
- CUET (UG) 2026 was open to candidates who had passed Class 12 or equivalent, or were appearing in 2026, with no age limit.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:Does not say any subject or marks needed for B.Sc.; the bulletin says university rules apply.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- CUET (UG) 2026 test eligibility, not university eligibility.
- Cycle: CUET (UG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
- The CUET (UG) 2026 bulletin leaves programme-wise subject combinations, marks and age to each university.Source: National Testing Agency ↗Not established:It does not itself say which Class 12 subjects a B.Sc. needs.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:CUET (UG) 2026. Cycle: CUET (UG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed. - For the IAT 2026 BS-MS programme, applicants must have taken at least three of Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics in Class 12.Source: IISERs, Joint Admissions Committee 2026 (organised by IISER Berhampur) ↗Not established:Does not set marks in individual subjects; the 60% rule is on aggregate of all subjects.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IAT 2026, 5-year BS-MS (Dual Degree) programme for science students at all IISERs.
- Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026.
- For IAT 2026, Mathematics in Class 12 was required for four named programmes: BS-MS in Computational and Data Sciences (IISER Kolkata), B.Tech (IISER Bhopal), BS in Economic Sciences (IISER Bhopal) and BS in Economic and Statistical Sciences (IISER Tirupati).Source: IISERs, Joint Admissions Committee 2026 (organised by IISER Berhampur) ↗Not established:Does not require Mathematics for the general BS-MS programme.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:IAT 2026. Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026. - IAT 2026 required at least 60% aggregate marks in the qualifying examination, 55% for SC/ST/PwD.Source: IISERs, Joint Admissions Committee 2026 (organised by IISER Berhampur) ↗Not established:The 55% for SC/ST/PwD is in the next sentence of the same bullet.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IAT 2026; aggregate of all subjects taken in Class 12.
- Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026.
- IAT admits to the seven IISERs, at Berhampur, Bhopal, Kolkata, Mohali, Pune, Thiruvananthapuram and Tirupati.Source: IISERs, Joint Admissions Committee 2026 (organised by IISER Berhampur) ↗Not established:Each IISER has its own programmes and fees; check each.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:IAT 2026. Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026. - IISc B.Sc. (Research) had a total intake of 125 in 2026.Source: Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore ↗Not established:Not a figure for any later year.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:IISc B.Sc. Cycle: Admissions 2026 (academic year 2026-27). - Source: University of Delhi ↗
- The University of Delhi 2026-27 bulletin lists B.Sc.
- (Hons.) programmes including Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Zoology and B.Sc. (Prog.) streams.
Not established:A list of programmes, not of seats or colleges.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- University of Delhi 2026-27.
- Cycle: UG admissions 2026-27 through CUET (UG) 2026.
The work and what comes next
The work, from the sources
- IISERs offer 5-year BS-MS (Dual Degree) programmes in science, 4-year BS programmes in economics-related areas and a 4-year B.Tech at IISER Bhopal.Source: IISERs, Joint Admissions Committee 2026 (organised by IISER Berhampur) ↗Not established:It describes the programme, not outcomes.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:IAT 2026 programmes. Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026. - IISc offers a four-year Bachelor of Science (Research) programme.Source: Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore ↗Not established:No outcomes or placement data on the page checked.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:IISc B.Sc. (Research). Cycle: Admissions 2026 (academic year 2026-27).
What can come next
- Source: Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India, INSPIRE programme ↗
- INSPIRE-SHE is tenable for at most five years from first-year B.Sc., B.S. or Int.
- M.Sc., or until the course ends, whichever is earlier.
Not established:It does not say what a graduate does next.Show scopeHide scope
Scope:INSPIRE-SHE. Cycle: Undated FAQ; batch not stated.
Sources and unanswered questions
- NTA, the IISERs, IISc, Delhi University and DST documents for the 2026 and 2026-27 cycles, checked on 31 October 2026 · India · the 2026 cycles are closed and no 2027 bulletin was out.
- Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
- Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
- CUET(UG) 2026 - Information Bulletin ↗National Testing Agency · accessed 25 Oct 2026Not established:So the bulletin does not say BCA is covered by CUET (UG); only that universities use scores.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- CUET (UG) 2026 for admission session 2026-27.
- The CUET (UG) information-bulletin page listed only the 2026 and 2025 bulletins on 25 Oct 2026; no 2027 bulletin.
- IISER Aptitude Test (IAT) 2026 - Information Brochure ↗IISERs, Joint Admissions Committee 2026 (organised by IISER Berhampur) · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IAT 2026 application fee, General/EWS/OBC/OBC-NCL.
- Cycle: IAT 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed; brochure dated March 2026.
- Not the fee for IAT 2027 (no 2027 brochure was found).
- The extracted brochure text lost the rupee symbol but spells the amount as Rupees.
- IISc Bachelor of Science (Research): Fee Structure, academic year 2026-27 ↗Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Not a total cost; not later years; hostel and mess charges are not shown on this page.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IISc B.Sc. (Research), academic year 2026-27, tuition line only.
- Cycle: Academic year 2026-27.
- Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs): Scholarship for Higher Education (SHE), DST-INSPIRE ↗Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India, INSPIRE programme · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- Selected INSPIRE-SHE scholars at B.Sc./B.S./Int. M.Sc./Int. M.S. level.
- The FAQ is undated and names no batch.
- Cycle: Undated FAQ; batch not stated.
- Does not say how many scholars a given batch has beyond the "12,000" in Q.1, or what the current batch amount is
- the page does not state a date.
- The scholarship is awarded on top-1% Class XII marks or listed exam ranks, so most B.Sc. students do not get it.
- IISc Bachelor of Science (Research): Fellowships ↗Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:The page lists several named donor fellowships; it states no amounts in the text read.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IISc B.Sc. (Research) students admitted from 2026-27.
- Cycle: Page checked on 31 Oct 2026.
- Indian Institute of Science: Admissions 2026, Four-Year Bachelor of Science (Research) Programme ↗Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not say how rank is turned into an offer; counselling rounds are on the Important Dates page.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- IISc B.Sc. (Research), 2026 admissions
- the two exams listed on the page are "JEE Advanced 2026" and "IISER Aptitude Test (IAT) 2026".
- Cycle: Admissions 2026 (academic year 2026-27).
- University of Delhi: Bulletin of Information, Undergraduate Admissions 2026-27 ↗University of Delhi · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:
Show scopeHide scope
Scope:- University of Delhi 2026-27 UG admissions.
- Cycle: UG admissions 2026-27 through CUET (UG) 2026.
- It names CUET subjects, not Class XII subjects
- the bulletin separately requires candidates to appear in the CUET subjects they studied in Class XII.
Your next step: Pick two programmes, then read each body's current bulletin for the subject combination, test fee and marks rule before you register.
Keep reading
A source names these qualifications for this profile: B.Sc · Science