Esc
Further studySource-checked · reviewed 31 Oct 20265 sources cited

M.Sc admission

Look at how admission to an M.Sc. works: the national CUET (PG) test, IIT JAM for the IITs and other institutes, and what Delhi University and the IITs state for their own programmes.

At a glance

Checked 31 Oct 2026 · 5 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026

Cost, pay and hours

As sourced
  1. 1
    Extra cost8 sourced
    • The CUET (PG) 2026 application fee for up to two test papers was 1400 rupees for General, and 700 rupees for each additional test paper.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • CUET (PG) 2026 application fee for up to two test papers, per the NTA FAQ and bulletin
      • excludes Service/processing charges and GST (paid to the bank or gateway)
      • fees for more than two test papers (listed separately)
      • any university application or tuition fee
      • the 2027 cycle
      Show scopeScope:
      • General category, CUET (PG) 2026.
      • Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
      Note:
      • Not the CUET (PG) 2027 fee (no 2027 notice was on exams.nta.nic.in/cuet-pg on 31 Oct 2026).
      • A candidate may apply for up to four test papers.
    • The CUET (PG) 2026 application fee for up to two test papers was 1200 rupees for Gen-EWS and OBC-NCL, and 600 rupees for each additional test paper.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • CUET (PG) 2026 application fee for up to two test papers, per the NTA FAQ and bulletin
      • excludes Service/processing charges and GST (paid to the bank or gateway)
      • fees for more than two test papers (listed separately)
      • any university application or tuition fee
      • the 2027 cycle
      Show scopeScope:
      • Gen-EWS and OBC-NCL, CUET (PG) 2026.
      • Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
      Note:Not the 2027 fee.
    Show 6 more
    • The CUET (PG) 2026 application fee for up to two test papers was 1100 rupees for SC, ST and Third Gender, and 600 rupees for each additional test paper.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • CUET (PG) 2026 application fee for up to two test papers, per the NTA FAQ and bulletin
      • excludes Service/processing charges and GST (paid to the bank or gateway)
      • fees for more than two test papers (listed separately)
      • any university application or tuition fee
      • the 2027 cycle
      Show scopeScope:
      • SC, ST and Third Gender, CUET (PG) 2026.
      • Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
      Note:Not the 2027 fee.
    • The CUET (PG) 2026 application fee for up to two test papers was 1000 rupees for PwD/PwBD, and 600 rupees for each additional test paper.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • CUET (PG) 2026 application fee for up to two test papers, per the NTA FAQ and bulletin
      • excludes Service/processing charges and GST (paid to the bank or gateway)
      • fees for more than two test papers (listed separately)
      • any university application or tuition fee
      • the 2027 cycle
      Show scopeScope:PwD/PwBD, CUET (PG) 2026. Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
      Note:Not the 2027 fee.
    • The JAM 2027 application fee was 1000 rupees for one test paper and 1350 rupees for two, for Female, SC, ST and PwD candidates.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • JAM 2027 application fee (one or two test papers), non-refundable
      • excludes Fee for change of category, paper or city (300)
      • the 750 admission-application processing fee
      • the seat booking fee
      • bank charges
      • the JAM 2028 fee
      Show scopeScope:
      • Female/SC/ST/PwD candidates, JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28).
      • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
      Note:Not the fee for JAM 2028. The page says the fees are non-refundable.
    • The JAM 2027 application fee was 2000 rupees for one test paper and 2700 rupees for two, for "All Others".Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • JAM 2027 application fee (one or two test papers), non-refundable
      • excludes Fee for change of category, paper or city (300)
      • the 750 admission-application processing fee
      • the seat booking fee
      • bank charges
      • the JAM 2028 fee
      Show scopeScope:
      • "All Others" (all candidates not in the Female/SC/ST/PwD row), JAM 2027.
      • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
      Note:Not the fee for JAM 2028.
    • A JAM-qualified candidate applying to the IITs pays a 750 rupee non-refundable processing fee for the admission application.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • Online processing fee for the admission application to the IITs
      • excludes JAM application fee
      • seat booking fee
      Show scopeScope:
      • JAM 2027 admission application to the 23 IITs, a single payment.
      • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
      Note:Not the JAM test fee. The brochure says detailed admission information will be in the Admission Brochure of March 2027.
    • After an IIT admission offer, JAM 2027 candidates pay an advance seat booking fee of 15,000 rupees (General/OBC-NCL/EWS) or 7,500 rupees (SC/ST/PwD), adjusted against the Institute Fee.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • Advance seat booking fee after an offer
      • adjusted against the Institute Fee at registration
      • excludes Institute fee, hostel and other charges
      Show scopeScope:
      • JAM 2027 admissions to IITs for 2027-28.
      • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
      Note:Not the M.Sc. tuition fee; the brochure says the Institute Fee is set by each admitting institute.
  2. 2
    PayNot established
    This is a study route, so there is no salary.A stipend or fee waiver appears only where a source states it.Have a source? Tell us
  3. 3
    Timetable & attendance3 sourced
    • INSPIRE-SHE is not continued if a scholar takes a one-year break between B.Sc. and M.Sc.
      Show scopeScope:INSPIRE-SHE scholars. Cycle: Undated FAQ; batch not stated.
      Note:The question asked is about a one-year break after completing the B.Sc.
    • Admitted JAM candidates may have to give a physical fitness certificate and can lose the seat if a medical board finds them unfit for the chosen programme.
      Show scopeScope:JAM 2027 IIT admissions. Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
      Note:The brochure says admission is "liable to be cancelled" if candidates are not found physically fit to pursue the programme.
    Show 1 more
    • The detailed JAM 2027 admission timelines were to come in an Admission Brochure in the second week of March 2027, so the IIT admission process is not fully published.
      Show scopeScope:JAM 2027. Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
      Note:Dates and rules for the admission stage may change between this brochure and the Admission Brochure.

Reality check

From the sources
The work
  • JAM scores admit to M.Sc., M.Sc.
  • (Tech.), M.S. (Research), dual-degree and Integrated Ph.D. programmes, and CUET (PG) is the test Delhi University uses for its M.Sc. programmes.
  • Not established: M.Sc. tuition fees and stipends, which these pages do not print.
Entry requirements
  • NTA's CUET (PG) 2026 bulletin leaves eligibility, subject combinations and age to each university.
  • JAM 2027 was open to anyone who had completed, or would complete in 2027, an undergraduate degree, and each IIT programme then sets its own subject conditions: IIT Madras M.Sc.
  • Physics asks for Physics for two years and Mathematics for one year, and IIT Delhi M.Sc.
  • Chemistry asks for Chemistry for three years.
Show 1 more
  • Some IIT programmes name BCA, B.Sc., B.A. and B.Com. with Mathematics.
Trade-offs to consider
  • A good score is not a seat: JAM admission at the IITs goes through up to four rounds of offers, admitted candidates may have to give a fitness certificate, and the detailed JAM 2027 timelines were still to be published.
  • Application fees are not refundable.

Skills & employers

From the sources
Skills to investigate
  • Subject knowledge from the bachelor's degree
  • Entrance test preparation
Institutions named in sources
  • University of Delhi, Department of Physics and Astrophysics
Examples in cited pages, not a hiring list.
Study or credential needed
  • JAM 2027 is a computer based test in seven test papers, so a candidate must qualify in the relevant paper to apply to IIT M.Sc. programmes.
    Show scopeScope:
    • JAM 2027; papers are Biotechnology (BT), Chemistry (CY), Economics (EN), Geology (GG), Mathematics (MA), Mathematical Statistics (MS) and Physics (PH).
    • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Note:Not all M.Sc. programmes in India use JAM; many universities use CUET (PG) or their own test.
  • JAM scores are used for admission "without any additional interview or written test" at the IITs, subject to eligibility.
    Show scopeScope:JAM 2027, admitting IITs. Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Note:
    • The sentence is conditional on meeting Eligibility Requirements and Minimum Educational Qualifications
    • a physical fitness certificate may also be asked (section 4.1.2).
    • NTA says the CUET (PG) 2026 role is limited to the test
    • each university runs its own counselling on the score card.
    Show scopeScope:CUET (PG) 2026. Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
    Note:It does not list which universities participate (a dynamic list is on the NTA site).
  • The CUET (PG) 2026 score was valid only for the 2026-27 academic year.
    Show scopeScope:CUET (PG) 2026. Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
    Note:A student must retake the test for a later year.

How admission works

18 sourced
  • The CUET (PG) application fee is non-refundable and non-transferable.
    Source: National Testing Agency (NTA) ↗
    Show scopeScope:CUET (PG) 2026. Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
    Not established:Applies to the NTA application fee, not to any university fee.
  • A CUET (PG) 2026 applicant could apply for up to four test papers.
    Source: National Testing Agency (NTA) ↗
    Show scopeScope:CUET (PG) 2026. Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
    Not established:The total fee depends on how many papers a university programme asks for.
  • JAM application fees are non-refundable under any circumstances.
    Source: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:JAM 2027. Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:Applies to the application fee.
Show 15 more
    • CUET (PG) 2026 eligibility was a completed Bachelor's degree or being in the final year in 2026, with no age limit
    • universities set their own rules.
    Source: National Testing Agency (NTA) ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • CUET (PG) 2026 test eligibility, not university eligibility.
    • Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
    Not established:The Bachelor's degree subject is not named; each university sets subject and marks conditions.
  • The CUET (PG) 2026 bulletin leaves eligibility, subject combinations and age to each participating university.
    Source: National Testing Agency (NTA) ↗
    Show scopeScope:CUET (PG) 2026. Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
    Not established:It does not say which Bachelor's subjects a given M.Sc. needs.
  • JAM 2027 was open to anyone who had completed, or would complete in 2027, an undergraduate degree; there is no age limit.
    Source: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • JAM 2027 test eligibility. The degree must be completed before admission at the admitting institute.
    • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:
    • The test allows any undergraduate degree
    • each IIT programme then sets its own Minimum Educational Qualification.
    • IIT Madras M.Sc. Physics required a B.Sc./B.S. degree with Physics for two years and Mathematics for one year
    • engineering degrees had no restriction.
    Names: B.ScSource: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • IIT Madras M.Sc. in Physics (1703), JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28).
    • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:Other IITs print different Physics/Mathematics duration conditions; this is one programme.
  • IIT Delhi M.Sc. Chemistry required Chemistry for three years (six semesters) in the Bachelor's degree.
    Names: B.ScSource: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • IIT Delhi M.Sc. in Chemistry (1301), JAM 2027.
    • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:
    • The same phrase appears for several IITs
    • some add Mathematics for one year (e.g. IIT Bombay, IIT Hyderabad).
    • IIT Kanpur M.Sc. Chemistry named B.Sc., B.S. and B.Sc.
    • (Hons.) degrees with Chemistry for three years.
    Names: B.ScSource: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • IIT Kanpur M.Sc. in Chemistry (1501), JAM 2027.
    • The row continues "with Chemistry for three years/six semesters".
    • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:The quote is the degree names; the subject condition is in the rest of the cell.
    • IIT Bombay M.Sc. Biotechnology and IIT Indore M.Sc.
    • Biotechnology accepted "Any Branch/Subject" at Bachelor level.
    Names: B.ScSource: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Biotechnology (BT) paper programmes at IIT Bombay and IIT Indore, JAM 2027.
    • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:
    • "Any Branch/Subject" is the subject condition only
    • other conditions (for example a footnote marked "@" on the IIT Bombay row) were not explained in the text read.
    • IIT Gandhinagar M.Sc. Chemistry and IIT Kanpur/IIT Bombay M.Sc.
    • Statistics listed "No Restrictions" on the Bachelor's subject.
    Source: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • JAM 2027 programmes with "No Restrictions".
    • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:Different programmes of the same name at other IITs set subject conditions.
  • IIT Dharwad M.Sc. Chemistry named a Bachelor's degree in Science or Engineering.
    Names: B.ScSource: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • IIT Dharwad M.Sc. in Chemistry (3301), JAM 2027.
    • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:Other IITs restrict to Chemistry graduates.
    • IIT Roorkee M.Sc. Economics named BCA and B.Sc./B.A./B.Com. with Mathematics as one of the subjects
    • engineering degrees had no restriction.
    Names: B.ScSource: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • JAM 2027 Economics (EN) paper; IIT Roorkee M.Sc. in Economics (1803). Row also names B.Sc.
    • (Economics), B.A. (Economics) and B.Sc. (Statistics).
    • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:This is the economics paper; science B.Sc. students use other papers.
    • University of Delhi listed 368 M.Sc.
    • Physics seats, excluding supernumerary seats.
    Source: University of Delhi, Department of Physics and Astrophysics ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • University of Delhi M.Sc. Physics, 2026 cycle; excludes seats for PWD, CWD, foreign students and others as per DU norms.
    • Cycle: Page names "Two Year M.Sc. Information Bulletin 2026".
    Not established:The seat number may change each year.
    • University of Delhi M.Sc. Physics (Category C2) also listed Bachelor's (Hons.)
    • Physics from the University of Delhi.
    Names: B.ScSource: University of Delhi, Department of Physics and Astrophysics ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • University of Delhi M.Sc. Physics, Category C2 (University of Delhi graduates).
    • Cycle: Page names "Two Year M.Sc. Information Bulletin 2026".
    Not established:Categories C1 and C2 have different seat counts on the page.
  • JAM 2027 scores were used for about 3000 M.Sc. and related seats at 23 IITs for 2027-28.
    Source: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:JAM 2027. Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:"Around" is the brochure's word; the exact count is in Annexure II.
  • JAM scores are also used for over 2000 seats at IISc, CFTIs, NITs, DIAT, IIEST Shibpur, IISER Pune, IISER Bhopal, IIPE, JNCASR, SLIET and others, through centralised counselling (CCMN).
    Source: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • JAM 2027; the sentence begins "JAM score will be used for admission to over 2000 seats for postgraduate programs at".
    • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:The CCMN website (ccmn.admissions.nic.in) holds the details;.
  • NTA says participating universities and their programmes, mapped test paper codes and eligibility are on its site and the list changes.
    Source: National Testing Agency (NTA) ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • CUET (PG) 2026. The FAQ gives the page https://exams.nta.nic.in/cuet-pg/participating-universities for programme details.
    • Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.

The work and what comes next

2 sourced
The work, from the sources
    • JAM scores admit to M.Sc., M.Sc.
    • (Tech.), M.S. (Research), M.Sc.-M.Tech. dual degree, Joint M.Sc.-Ph.D., M.Sc.-Ph.D. dual degree and Integrated Ph.D. programmes.
    Source: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:JAM 2027. Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:
    • The list continues to (vi) M.Sc.-Ph.D.
    • Dual Degree and (vii) Integrated Ph.D.; not every IIT offers every programme.
What can come next
  • JAM admission at the IITs goes through up to four rounds of offers.
    Source: IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 ↗
    Show scopeScope:JAM 2027 IIT admissions. Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:An additional round may be notified if seats stay vacant.

Sources and unanswered questions

  • NTA, the JAM organising IIT, Delhi University and DST documents for the 2026 and 2027 cycles, checked on 31 October 2026 · India · eligibility differs by programme and the examples shown are single programmes.
  • Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
  • Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
  • Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs): Scholarship for Higher Education (SHE), DST-INSPIRE ↗Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India, INSPIRE programme · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Selected INSPIRE-SHE scholars at B.Sc./B.S./Int. M.Sc./Int. M.S. level.
    • The FAQ is undated and names no batch.
    • Cycle: Undated FAQ; batch not stated.
    Not established:
    • Does not say how many scholars a given batch has beyond the "12,000" in Q.1, or what the current batch amount is
    • the page does not state a date.
    • The scholarship is awarded on top-1% Class XII marks or listed exam ranks, so most B.Sc. students do not get it.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs), CUET (PG) 2026 ↗National Testing Agency (NTA) · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • General category, CUET (PG) 2026.
    • Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
    Not established:
    • Not the CUET (PG) 2027 fee (no 2027 notice was on exams.nta.nic.in/cuet-pg on 31 Oct 2026).
    • A candidate may apply for up to four test papers.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Information Bulletin, Common University Entrance Test (CUET) PG 2026 (linked from exams.nta.nic.in/cuet-pg) ↗National Testing Agency (NTA) · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:CUET (PG) 2026. Cycle: CUET (PG) 2026 (admission 2026-27), closed.
    Not established:The total fee depends on how many papers a university programme asks for.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • JAM 2027 Information Brochure (Joint Admission Test for Masters) ↗IIT Kharagpur, Organising Institute of JAM 2027 · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Female/SC/ST/PwD candidates, JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28).
    • Cycle: JAM 2027 (admission 2027-28); applications closed 24 Oct 2026 (extended); exam 14 Feb 2027.
    Not established:Not the fee for JAM 2028. The page says the fees are non-refundable.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Department of Physics and Astrophysics, University of Delhi: Admission (M.Sc.) ↗University of Delhi, Department of Physics and Astrophysics · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • University of Delhi M.Sc. Physics, 2026 cycle; excludes seats for PWD, CWD, foreign students and others as per DU norms.
    • Cycle: Page names "Two Year M.Sc. Information Bulletin 2026".
    Not established:The seat number may change each year.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Your next step: Choose the programme first, then read its own subject and marks rule at the university or IIT, and the matching test paper code in the current bulletin.

A source names these qualifications for this profile: B.Sc · Science