Esc
Role to investigateSource-checked · reviewed 31 Oct 20266 sources cited

Civil Services Examination (UPSC)

Investigate the UPSC Civil Services Examination: who can sit, the fees, the stages, the services it fills, and what the rules print about pay and training.

At a glance

Checked 31 Oct 2026 · 6 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026

Cost, pay and hours

As sourced
  1. 1
    Extra cost3 sourced
    • Applicants other than Female/SC/ST/PwBD pay Rs. 100 to appear in the Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination, 2026, paid online.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per attempt
      • Appearing in Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination, 2026
      • excludes Main Examination fee (separate)
      • bank or payment charges not mentioned
      Show scopeScope:
      • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
      • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
      • A newer cycle (CSE 2027) is listed in the UPSC 2027 calendar but its notice was not yet published on 31 Oct 2026.
      Show 1 more
      • Fee is for the Preliminary stage only.
      Note:
      • Does not cover the Main Examination fee
      • says nothing about coaching or other costs of preparing
      • a 2027 fee is not yet published.
    • Candidates admitted to the Main Examination pay a further Rs. 200, except exempted categories, in a window after the Preliminary result.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per attempt
      • Admission to Civil Services (Main) Examination, 2026
      • excludes Preliminary fee
      • interview-stage costs not mentioned
      Show scopeScope:
      • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
      • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
      • Fee is for the Main stage only; the Interview/Personality Test fee is not mentioned.
      Note:Not a total cost of the exam; does not include travel, preparation or coaching.
    Show 1 more
      • Female, SC, ST and Persons with Benchmark Disability candidates are exempted from the fee
      • all other candidates (General, EWS, OBC) pay it.
      Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per attempt
      • Preliminary and Main fee for Female/SC/ST/PwBD
      Show scopeScope:
      • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
      • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
      • Exempt categories as printed: Female, SC, ST, PwBD.
      Note:Does not say OBC or EWS get any fee concession (none is printed).
  2. 2
    Pay1 sourced
    • Schedule III (Pay Matrix, w.e.f. 01.01.2016) shows 56100 as the first value in the Level 10 column.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • period not stated in the table
      • Level 10 first cell, Pay Matrix w.e.f. 01.01.2016
      Show scopeScope:Seventh Pay Commission matrix, as printed in the Gazette copy.
      Note:
      • Does not say the figure is monthly (the table does not state the period)
      • does not add DA, HRA or any allowance
      • not confirmed against an 8th Pay Commission revision.
      Show 1 more
      • Excludes all allowances; any later revision.
  3. 3
    Shifts & hours4 sourced
    • UPSC checks eligibility documents only after a candidate qualifies for the Interview, so ineligibility can surface late.
      Show scopeScope:
      • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
      • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
      Note:Does not say how many candidates are removed at that stage.
    • UPSC states 13,343 candidates were shortlisted for the 2026 Main against 1016 vacancies notified for CSE 2026.
      Show scopeScope:
      • CSE 2026 Preliminary result (18 June 2026).
      • Numbers as printed; no ratio is computed here.
      Note:Does not give the number of applicants or the number finally selected.
    Show 2 more
    • Wrong answers in the Preliminary objective papers carry a one-third mark penalty.
      Show scopeScope:
      • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
      • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
      Note:Applies to Preliminary only.
      • Candidates who want the IAS or IPS must indicate a home cadre preference
      • service allocation follows rank and preferences.
      Show scopeScope:
      • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
      • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
      • Posting wording at the allocation stage only.
      Note:Does not say hours, shifts or on-call duty; says nothing about transfers after joining.

Reality check

From the sources
The work
  • The Preliminary is only a screening test whose marks do not count toward the final order of merit, the Main written test totals 1750 marks and the Personality Test 275.
  • Training for IAS officers is described on LBSNAA pages.
  • Not established: day-to-day work, because no primary job description was found.
Entry requirements
  • The notice asks for a graduate degree of any recognised university or an equivalent qualification
  • no subject is named, and B.A. and B.Sc. are not named.
  • Candidates who intend to appear in the final degree examination may sit the written part.
  • Age is 21 to 32 on 1 August 2026, with relaxations, and each eligible candidate has six attempts, with relaxations for some categories.
Trade-offs to consider
  • Selection is competitive: UPSC states 13,343 candidates were shortlisted for the 2026 Main against 1016 vacancies.
  • Wrong answers in the Preliminary carry a one-third mark penalty, and UPSC checks eligibility documents only after a candidate qualifies for the Interview.
  • Not established: hours and shifts, and pay for the services other than the IAS.

Skills & employers

From the sources
Skills to investigate
  • General studies
  • Writing
  • Examination stamina
Employers named in sourcesNone recorded.
Study or credential needed
  • The Main Examination includes qualifying papers in an Indian language and in English, set at Matriculation level, whose marks are not counted for ranking.
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    • Qualifying, mandatory for the Main stage.
    Note:No licence or separate certificate beyond the exam itself is required.

What employers ask for

12 sourced
  • The Civil Services Examination asks for a graduate degree of any recognised university or an equivalent qualification; no subject is named.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    • The notice does not list BA, B.Sc or any other degree by name and sets no marks cut-off.
    Not established:
    • Does not say B.A. or B.Sc is named
    • does not give a minimum percentage
    • "equivalent qualification" is decided by the Commission and Government.
    • Candidates who have appeared, or intend to appear, at the qualifying degree examination are eligible for the written part
    • proof of passing is needed if they qualify for interview.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    • Final-year students may apply
    Show 1 more
    • proof of passing must be produced within the time limit in Rule 13 of CSE 2026 if called for interview.
    Not established:Does not state the date by which proof must be produced (it points to Rule 13).
  • The age band is 21 to 32 on 1 August 2026 (born between 2 Aug 1994 and 1 Aug 2005).
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026). General category upper age.
    Not established:Does not apply to later cycles; the 2027 band will be set in the 2027 notice.
Show 9 more
  • The upper age limit is relaxable by up to five years for Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe candidates.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    Not established:Does not give the resulting age in years.
  • The upper age limit is relaxable by up to three years for OBC candidates eligible for reservation.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    Not established:
    • Does not give the resulting age
    • PwBD, ex-servicemen and other relaxations are in the same paragraph.
  • Persons with Benchmark Disabilities get up to ten years of upper-age relaxation.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    • Subject to meeting the physical and medical standards of the service allotted.
    Not established:
    • Does not say every service is open to every disability
    • a list of identified services is in the notice.
  • Every eligible candidate is permitted six attempts at the CSE, with relaxation for SC/ST/OBC and PwBD.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026). General and EWS rule.
    Not established:Does not say attempts expire with age; the age limit still applies.
  • Appearing in even one Preliminary paper counts as an attempt.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    Not established:Does not say a form submitted but not used counts.
  • The notice lists 23 services and posts, led by the IAS, the IFS and the IPS, then Group A central services and Group B services.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    • Group A includes IRS (Customs & Indirect Taxes), IRS (Income Tax), Indian Postal Service, Indian Railway Management Services and others
    Show 1 more
    • Group B includes DANICS, DANIPS, PONDICS, PONDIPS and the AFHQ Civil Service.
    Not established:Does not say how many of the vacancies go to each service.
    • The notice expects about 933 vacancies including 33 reserved for Persons with Benchmark Disability
    • the final number may change.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    • Vacancy count at notice date.
    Not established:The final count may differ; the later press note cites 1016 for the same exam.
  • IAS trainees must show proficiency in the regional language of the allotted State during Phase-I.
    Source: Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration ↗Not established:Does not say whether failing it blocks confirmation (the page does not say).
  • The UPSC 2027 calendar lists the Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination, 2027 for 23.05.2027 and the Main for 20.08.2027.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Newer-cycle check: calendar "as on 20.05.2026".
    • The notification and last-date columns for this row are printed on the adjoining line (13.01.2027 and 02.02.2027) and the text layout is ambiguous, so confirm them on the PDF.
    Not established:Dates are liable to alteration per the calendar note; no CSE 2027 notice exists yet.

The work and what comes next

7 sourced
The work, from the sources
    • The Preliminary Examination is only a screening test
    • its marks do not count toward the final order of merit.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    Not established:Does not give the Preliminary cut-off.
  • The Main stage admits about twelve to thirteen times the number of vacancies, and about twice the vacancies go to the interview.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    Not established:Admission ratios, not success rates.
Show 2 more
  • The Main written test totals 1750 marks and the Personality Test carries 275 marks, for a grand total of 2025.
    Source: Union Public Service Commission ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    • Nine written papers, two qualifying in nature.
    Not established:Does not state cut-offs.
  • LBSNAA says the Foundation Course is for officer trainees of the IAS, IPS, Indian Forest Service, IFS and various Group A central services.
    Source: Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration ↗Not established:Does not give the pay or stipend; the next sentence in the same paragraph lists the other services.
What can come next
  • The Indian Administrative Service (Pay) Rules, 2016 place the IAS Junior Scale at Level 10 of the Pay Matrix.
    Source: Department of Personnel and Training, Government of India (Gazette copy hosted on thc.nic.in) ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • IAS only (one of 23 services in the CSE notice)
    • Gazette G.S.R. 870(E) dated 8 Sep 2016, deemed in force 1 Jan 2016.
    • Copy hosted on a government site (thc.nic.in), not DoPT.
    Not established:
    • Does not give the rupee amount (that is in Schedule III)
    • does not cover IFS, IPS, IRS or other CSE services
    • later pay revisions, if any, were not checked.
  • The initial pay of a direct recruit to the IAS is fixed at the first Cell of Level 10 of the Pay Matrix.
    Source: Department of Personnel and Training, Government of India (Gazette copy hosted on thc.nic.in) ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • IAS direct recruits (those appointed through the Civil Services Examination). Same Gazette copy.
    • The sentence continues "the Level 10 of Pay Matrix" (text layer prints it as "Level 1 0").
    Not established:
    • Does not say what is paid during Foundation Course or training
    • no allowances, deductions or take-home are given.
Show 1 more

Sources and unanswered questions

  • UPSC, the Department of Personnel and Training and LBSNAA documents, checked on 31 October 2026 · India · the 2026 notice is closed and no 2027 notice was out; pay is established only for the IAS.
  • Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
  • Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
  • Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE: Civil Services Examination, 2026 ↗Union Public Service Commission · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Civil Services Examination (CSE) 2026, UPSC Examination Notice No. 05/2026-CSE dated 04.02.2026
    • the cycle is closed for applications (last date 24.02.2026).
    • A newer cycle (CSE 2027) is listed in the UPSC 2027 calendar but its notice was not yet published on 31 Oct 2026.
    Show 1 more
    • Fee is for the Preliminary stage only.
    Not established:
    • Does not cover the Main Examination fee
    • says nothing about coaching or other costs of preparing
    • a 2027 fee is not yet published.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Indian Administrative Service (Pay) Rules, 2016 (G.S.R. 870(E), Gazette of India Extraordinary) ↗Department of Personnel and Training, Government of India (Gazette copy hosted on thc.nic.in) · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • IAS only (one of 23 services in the CSE notice)
    • Gazette G.S.R. 870(E) dated 8 Sep 2016, deemed in force 1 Jan 2016.
    • Copy hosted on a government site (thc.nic.in), not DoPT.
    Not established:
    • Does not give the rupee amount (that is in Schedule III)
    • does not cover IFS, IPS, IRS or other CSE services
    • later pay revisions, if any, were not checked.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Press Note: Result of the Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination, 2026 ↗Union Public Service Commission · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • CSE 2026 Preliminary result (18 June 2026).
    • Numbers as printed; no ratio is computed here.
    Not established:Does not give the number of applicants or the number finally selected.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Foundation Course ↗Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not give the pay or stipend; the next sentence in the same paragraph lists the other services.Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • IAS Phase-I ↗Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration · accessed 31 Oct 2026Not established:Does not say whether failing it blocks confirmation (the page does not say).Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Programme of Examinations/Recruitment Tests (RTs) - 2027 ↗Union Public Service Commission · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • Newer-cycle check: calendar "as on 20.05.2026".
    • The notification and last-date columns for this row are printed on the adjoining line (13.01.2027 and 02.02.2027) and the text layout is ambiguous, so confirm them on the PDF.
    Not established:Dates are liable to alteration per the calendar note; no CSE 2027 notice exists yet.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Your next step: Read the current notice for the age limit, number of attempts and the list of services, and check the date of the next Preliminary on UPSC's calendar.