Esc
Further studySource-checked · reviewed 31 Oct 202611 sources cited

Psychology: M.A., clinical psychology and RCI registration

Investigate the route from a B.A. or B.Sc. in Psychology to clinical psychology: the RCI Master in Clinical Psychology, the older M.Phil, and the Central Rehabilitation Register that decides who may practise.

At a glance

Checked 31 Oct 2026 · 11 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026

Cost, pay and hours

As sourced
  1. 1
    Extra cost7 sourced
    • There is no fee for a fresh CRR number, renewal or add-on qualification.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • Fresh CRR number, renewal and add-on qualification
      • excludes Fees listed separately for pre-CRR (Rs 100), late registration (Rs 500), Good Standing Certificate (Rs 1500)
      Show scopeScope:RCI CRR norms effective from 14.10.2025.
      Note:Does not apply to everyone; see the pre-CRR fee finding.
    • Fresh graduate or postgraduate students can register for pre-CRR for Rs 100.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • Pre-CRR registration while on a Council-recognised course
      Show scopeScope:RCI CRR norms effective from 14.10.2025.
      Note:
      • RCI says colleges that push data to RCI will not charge even this
      • whether a given college does is not stated.
    Show 5 more
    • If the pre-CRR is not applied for within three months of the course start, the CRR application fee is Rs. 500.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • CRR registration application fee after missing the pre-CRR window
      Show scopeScope:RCI CRR norms effective from 14.10.2025.
      Note:No other registration fee is printed on the page.
    • A Good Standing Certificate from RCI costs Rs. 1500, paid online.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • Good Standing Certificate
      Show scopeScope:RCI CRR norms effective from 14.10.2025.
      Note:Not needed for first registration.
    • If CRR is not renewed in time, a penalty of Rs 100 per month of delay applies, up to Rs 5000.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per month
      • Penalty for gap in CRR registration or renewal
      Show scopeScope:RCI CRR norms effective from 14.10.2025.
      Note:Renewal also needs 100 CRE points, as the page states separately.
    • Entrance exam fee at CIP Ranchi 2025 was Rs.1000 for Unreserved and EWS candidates.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • Entrance exam application fee, Unreserved and EWS
      • excludes Transactional charges
      • not refunded
      Show scopeScope:
      • CIP Ranchi PG entrance 2025 (session starting 02.06.2025).
      • CIP states adverts come in October-November.
      Note:Tuition or hostel fees are not stated in this prospectus.
    • IGNOU's MA in Psychology (MAPC) fee is Rs 10,500 per year for national students, with exam fees extra.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per year
      • MAPC programme fee, national students
      • excludes Exam fees decided by the University
      Show scopeScope:IGNOU MAPC page checked on 31 October 2026; programme is ODL, not offered to international students.
      Note:The page does not say whether it leads to RCI registration.
  2. 2
    Pay1 sourced
    • Selected M.Phil candidates at CIP Ranchi get a scholarship of Rs. 25,000 per month.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per month
      • Scholarship (called Group A) for selected candidates in the 2025 entrance
      Show scopeScope:
      • CIP Ranchi PG entrance 2025 (session starting 02.06.2025).
      • CIP states adverts come in October-November.
      Note:Not a salary and not confirmed for any later cycle.
  3. 3
    Timetable & attendance1 sourced
    • The programme is a full-time clinical training course of two academic years, with 80% minimum attendance each year.
      Show scopeScope:RCI guideline effective from Academic Session 2024-25.
      Note:Does not state weekly hours or stipend.

Reality check

From the sources
The work
  • RCI says the Master in Clinical Psychology trains clinicians, teachers and trainers, researchers and administrators in mental health, and that it replaced the two-year M.Phil after UGC discontinued M.Phil programmes.
  • Not established: the day-to-day work of a working psychologist.
Entry requirements
  • RCI's two-year Master in Clinical Psychology asks for a four-year B.A. or B.Sc. degree in Psychology with at least 55% in aggregate (50% for SC/ST), and a three-year Psychology graduate may qualify through a Bridge Course.
  • Only this RCI programme names B.A. or B.Sc., and only in Psychology.
  • The sources read do not say whether other M.A. Psychology routes lead to RCI registration.
Trade-offs to consider
  • The RCI says UGC discontinued the M.Phil, yet CIP Ranchi and a hospital advertisement still use it, and the position of M.Phil holders is not settled in the sources read.
  • Not established: pay of working psychologists, M.Clin.Psy. tuition fees and hours.

Skills & employers

From the sources
Skills to investigate
  • Psychology
  • Clinical training
  • Research methods
Institutions named in sources
  • Central Institute of Psychiatry, Ranchi
  • Indira Gandhi National Open University
  • University of Delhi
  • Amrita Hospital, Kochi
Examples in cited pages, not a hiring list.
Study or credential needed
  • Under the RCI Act, no person other than an enrolled rehabilitation professional with a recognised qualification may practise as a rehabilitation professional in India.
    Show scopeScope:Rehabilitation Council of India Act 1992, Section 13(2).
    Note:
    • Section 13(2A) exempts some doctors/paramedics of government-funded hospitals
    • psychiatrists are named there.
  • Clinical Psychologists are one of the listed categories of rehabilitation professional registered in the Central Rehabilitation Register.
    Show scopeScope:RCI CRR norms effective from 14.10.2025.
    Note:The page does not list which courses are recognised; see the RCI regular-mode programme page.
  • RCI says only persons with valid, active registration may practise as rehabilitation professionals.
    Show scopeScope:RCI CRR norms effective from 14.10.2025.
    Note:
    • Does not say whether a title such as 'psychologist' alone is restricted
    • it covers practice as a rehabilitation professional.
  • CRR registration and renewal are valid for seven years.
    Show scopeScope:RCI CRR norms effective from 14.10.2025.
    Note:Registration fee itself is nil.

How admission works

14 sourced
  • RCI lists a two-year Master in Clinical Psychology (M.Clin.Psy.) among its regular-mode programmes.
    Source: Rehabilitation Council of India ↗
    Show scopeScope:RCI regular-mode programme list read on 31 October 2026.
    Not established:The page row shows duration and curriculum links, not eligibility;.
  • RCI also still lists a two-year M.Phil (Clinical Psychology) in its regular-mode programmes.
    Source: Rehabilitation Council of India ↗
    Show scopeScope:RCI regular-mode programme list read on 31 October 2026.
    Not established:Listing does not say any institution is admitting to it in 2026-27.
  • RCI lists a four-year Bachelor in Clinical Psychology (B.Clin.Psy.).
    Source: Rehabilitation Council of India ↗
    Show scopeScope:RCI regular-mode programme list read on 31 October 2026.
    Not established:Eligibility is in the separate B.Clin.Psy. guideline.
Show 11 more
  • Entry to the RCI Master in Clinical Psychology needs a four-year B.A./B.Sc. degree in Psychology with at least 55% in aggregate.
    Names: B.A.Source: Rehabilitation Council of India ↗
    Show scopeScope:RCI guideline effective from Academic Session 2024-25; applies to the subject Psychology only.
    Not established:A B.A./B.Sc. in a subject other than Psychology is not named as eligible.
  • A three-year Psychology graduate may qualify by passing a fourth-year Bridge Course or the first year of a Masters Programme in Psychology.
    Names: B.A.Source: Rehabilitation Council of India ↗
    Show scopeScope:RCI guideline effective from Academic Session 2024-25.
    Not established:The Bridge Course's fee, duration or provider are not stated.
  • SC/ST candidates need at least 50% marks in aggregate for the RCI Master in Clinical Psychology.
    Names: B.A.Source: Rehabilitation Council of India ↗
    Show scopeScope:RCI guideline effective from Academic Session 2024-25.
    Not established:Other reserved categories (OBC, EWS, PwD) are not mentioned in this guideline.
  • Admission is by a written test and interview, with 70% weight on the entrance test and 30% on the interview.
    Source: Rehabilitation Council of India ↗
    Show scopeScope:RCI guideline effective from Academic Session 2024-25.
    Not established:The name of the entrance exam and fee are set by each institution.
  • The older RCI M.Phil in Clinical Psychology needed a 2-year M.A./M.Sc. in Psychology with at least 55% in aggregate.
    Names: M.A.Source: Rehabilitation Council of India ↗
    Show scopeScope:RCI M.Phil guideline effective from Academic Session 2017-18.
    Not established:Does not name a bachelor's degree; it needs a postgraduate degree.
  • RCI's four-year Bachelor in Clinical Psychology is open to those who completed Class 12 with science stream or equivalent, so it is not a route for existing B.A./B.Sc. graduates.
    Source: Rehabilitation Council of India ↗
    Show scopeScope:RCI B.Clin.Psy. guideline, listed on the RCI regular-mode page.
    Not established:Says nothing about graduates joining later.
  • CIP Ranchi's M.Phil Clinical Psychology asks for M.A./M.Sc. in Psychology with minimum 55% marks for UR and EWS candidates.
    Names: M.A.Source: Central Institute of Psychiatry, Ranchi ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • CIP Ranchi PG entrance 2025 (session starting 02.06.2025).
    • CIP states adverts come in October-November.
    Not established:Requires a postgraduate degree; B.A./B.Sc. alone is not accepted.
  • CIP selection is a 100-mark online test plus a 50-mark practical/interview.
    Source: Central Institute of Psychiatry, Ranchi ↗
    Show scopeScope:
    • CIP Ranchi PG entrance 2025 (session starting 02.06.2025).
    • CIP states adverts come in October-November.
    Not established:Syllabus not quoted.
  • CIP Ranchi states that advertisements for admission to its PG courses are published every year in October-November.
    Source: Central Institute of Psychiatry, Ranchi ↗
    Show scopeScope:CIP academics page checked on 31 October 2026.
    Not established:No 2026 advertisement was seen.
  • DU's PG bulletin gives no M.A. Psychology fee and tells candidates to see the department or college websites.
    Source: University of Delhi ↗
    Show scopeScope:DU bulletin 2026-27.
    Not established:No fee amount is printed.
  • Amrita Hospital, Kochi advertised an Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychology post needing M.Phil Clinical Psychology with valid CRR registration under RCI.
    Source: Amrita Hospital, Kochi ↗
    Show scopeScope:Careers page; last date 10 April 2026, closed. No pay shown.
    Not established:Does not say whether M.Clin.Psy. is accepted.

The work and what comes next

3 sourced
The work, from the sources
  • RCI replaced the two-year M.Phil in Clinical Psychology with a two-year RCI-regulated Master in Clinical Psychology after UGC discontinued M.Phil programmes.
    Source: Rehabilitation Council of India ↗
    Show scopeScope:M.Clin.Psy. guidelines effective from Academic Session 2024-25.
    Not established:Individual institutions may still be running M.Phil batches; CIP Ranchi advertised M.Phil for 2025.
  • RCI says the Master programme trains clinicians, teachers/trainers, researchers and administrators in mental health.
    Source: Rehabilitation Council of India ↗
    Show scopeScope:RCI guideline effective from Academic Session 2024-25.
    Not established:No employer list or pay.
Show 1 more
  • IGNOU MAPC runs for a minimum of 24 and a maximum of 48 months (distance mode).
    Source: Indira Gandhi National Open University ↗
    Show scopeScope:IGNOU MAPC.
    Not established:No attendance or hours stated.

Sources and unanswered questions

  • RCI, the Mental Healthcare Act 2017, CIP Ranchi, IGNOU and university documents, checked on 31 October 2026 · India · NIMHANS pages could not be read.
  • Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
  • Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
Your next step: Check RCI's current list of approved programmes and the Central Rehabilitation Register rules before you choose an M.A. Psychology programme.

A source names these qualifications for this profile: B.A. · Arts and humanities, M.A. · Arts and humanities