Esc
Further studySource-checked · reviewed 31 Oct 20266 sources cited

B.A. admission after Class 12

Look at how admission to a B.A. works after Class 12: the CUET (UG) test, Delhi University's subject rules for its B.A. (Hons.) programmes, and fee examples from Jamia Millia Islamia and TISS.

At a glance

Checked 31 Oct 2026 · 6 sources · next review 20 Nov 2026

Cost, pay and hours

As sourced
  1. 1
    Extra cost7 sourced
    • NTA charges the General (UR) candidate 1000 for up to three subjects and 400 for each additional subject in CUET (UG) 2026.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • CUET (UG) 2026 test fee, General (UR), up to 5 subjects chosen in all
      • excludes Bank/payment gateway charges and GST are not in this table
      • university application and admission fees are separate
      Show scopeScope:
      • CUET (UG) 2026, the test for 2026-27 admissions
      • the exam has been held, and no CUET (UG) 2027 bulletin was shown on the NTA site on 31 October 2026.
      Note:
      • Not the fee of any university.
      • A student applying to several universities still pays NTA once
      • each university sets its own application and admission fees.
    • NTA charges the OBC-NCL or EWS candidate 900 for up to three subjects and 375 for each additional subject in CUET (UG) 2026.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • CUET (UG) 2026 test fee, OBC-NCL (Central List) / EWS
      • excludes Bank/payment gateway charges and GST
      Show scopeScope:
      • CUET (UG) 2026, the test for 2026-27 admissions
      • the exam has been held, and no CUET (UG) 2027 bulletin was shown on the NTA site on 31 October 2026.
      Note:
      • Only OBC-NCL of the Central List qualifies
      • State-list OBC candidates must choose General/Unreserved (footnote in the bulletin).
    Show 5 more
    • NTA charges SC, ST, PwD, PwBD and Third gender candidates 800 for up to three subjects and 350 for each additional subject in CUET (UG) 2026.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • CUET (UG) 2026 test fee, SC/ST/PwD/PwBD/Third gender
      • excludes Bank/payment gateway charges and GST
      Show scopeScope:
      • CUET (UG) 2026, the test for 2026-27 admissions
      • the exam has been held, and no CUET (UG) 2027 bulletin was shown on the NTA site on 31 October 2026.
      Note:Fee only; says nothing about university fees.
    • Jamia lists a total fee payable per year of Rs.10,175 for B.A. (Hons.) History.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per year
      • Total Fee Payable per year as headed in the prospectus table
      • excludes The prospectus does not break the figure down here
      • hostel not stated
      Show scopeScope:JMI 2026-27, 8-semester programme, 60 seats.
      Note:Do not multiply by four years: the prospectus says fees are revised from time to time.
      • Jamia lists a total fee payable per year of Rs.13,475 for B.A. (Hons.)
      • Psychology and Rs.92,375 for the self-financed B.A. (Hons.) Human Resource Management.
      Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per year
      • Total Fee Payable per year as headed in the prospectus table
      • excludes Not broken down
      Show scopeScope:JMI 2026-27.
      Note:Fees are for different programmes inside one university; shows a wide spread inside one institution.
    • TISS prints a total course fee of 2,19,340 for the 8-semester BASS at its Tuljapur off-campus for the 2026-2030 batch.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • one-off
      • Total Course Fees over 8 semesters: tuition 13,200 per semester plus examination, field, IT, library, other charges, funds and a refundable caution deposit of 11,000, as printed in the table
      • excludes Hostel and dining charges are not shown in this table
      • expenses for study tours and field work are met by students
      Show scopeScope:
      • TISS Tuljapur BASS 2026-2030 batch.
      • The Guwahati BASS table on the same page also prints 2,19,340.
      Note:The table says the Institute can revise the fee structure.
    • MCU's online application fee is Rs. 550 for General and OBC candidates for the 2026-27 session.Basis:
      • Indian rupees
      • per attempt
      • Application fee for one programme, General and OBC
      • excludes Rs. 350 for each additional programme
      • SC/ST of Madhya Pradesh pay only a Rs. 50 portal fee
      • course fee not stated in this notice
      Show scopeScope:MCU 2026-27, applications closed 10 July 2026.
      Note:Not the programme fee.
  2. 2
    PayNot established
    This is a study route, so there is no salary.A stipend or fee waiver appears only where a source states it.Have a source? Tell us
  3. 3
    Timetable & attendance2 sourced
    • B.A. (Hons.) Multimedia and Mass Communication at Delhi University is self-financed, and the bulletin tells candidates to check the fee structure.
      Show scopeScope:DU 2026-27.
      Note:No fee amount is printed in the bulletin.
    • TISS says students pay for practicum, study tours and field work themselves, on top of the fee table.
      Show scopeScope:TISS Bachelor's programmes 2026-2030.
      Note:No amounts are given.

Reality check

From the sources
The work
  • Not established beyond the programme names each body prints.
  • Delhi University offers B.A. (Hons.) programmes such as History, Economics, Journalism and Multimedia and Mass Communication.
  • These pages do not show what graduates go on to do.
Entry requirements
  • Admission is through CUET (UG) at central universities: NTA sets no age limit and leaves eligibility to each university.
  • Delhi University asks for CUET in a stated language and subject combination: B.A. (Hons.)
  • History names no Class 12 stream and a Science-stream student can apply, B.A. (Hons.)
  • Economics needs Mathematics in CUET, and B.A. (Hons.)
Show 2 more
  • Journalism needs English plus three List B subjects or the General Aptitude Test.
  • Class 12 marks are used for minimum eligibility and tie-breaking.
Trade-offs to consider
  • Appearing in CUET (UG) does not by itself give a seat.
  • Self-financed programmes such as B.A. (Hons.)
  • Multimedia and Mass Communication carry their own fees, and TISS says students pay for practicum, study tours and field work on top of its fee table.

Skills & employers

From the sources
Skills to investigate
  • Language skills
  • Subject knowledge from Class 12
  • Entrance test preparation
Institutions named in sources
  • University of Delhi
  • Jamia Millia Islamia
  • Tata Institute of Social Sciences
  • Makhanlal Chaturvedi National University of Journalism and Communication, Bhopal
Examples in cited pages, not a hiring list.
Study or credential needed
    • A candidate may choose up to five subjects (languages, domain subjects, General Aptitude Test) irrespective of the subjects studied in Class 12
    • the bulletin lists History, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Geography, Mass Media/Mass Communication and others as domain subjects.
    Show scopeScope:CUET (UG) 2026 test design. Whether a particular subject choice makes a student eligible is decided by the university.
    Note:
    • Does not say that any subject combination is accepted by a given B.A. programme.
    • DU, for example, requires you to appear in the subjects you passed in Class 12.

How admission works

12 sourced
    • NTA sets no age limit for CUET (UG) 2026 and lets students who have passed Class 12 or are appearing in 2026 take the test
    • universities may add their own age rules.
    Source: National Testing Agency ↗
    Show scopeScope:CUET (UG) 2026 bulletin.
    Not established:Passing the test does not give admission; each university applies its own eligibility.
  • NTA says eligibility differs by university and that appearing in CUET (UG) does not by itself entitle a candidate to admission to a programme.
    Source: National Testing Agency ↗
    Show scopeScope:CUET (UG) 2026 bulletin.
    Not established:Does not say what any particular university requires.
  • The University of Delhi says CUET (UG) is mandatory for admission to its programmes except in the School of Open Learning and Non-Collegiate Women Education Board.
    Source: University of Delhi ↗
    Show scopeScope:University of Delhi undergraduate admissions 2026-27 (CSAS UG).
    Not established:
    • Does not apply to other universities
    • JMI, MCU and others use their own entrance tests or merit lists for some B.A. programmes.
Show 9 more
    • For B.A. (Hons.) History at Delhi University, a candidate must sit CUET in one language from List A plus any three List B subjects, or two languages plus any two List B subjects.
    • No Class 12 stream is named.
    Source: University of Delhi ↗
    Show scopeScope:DU 2026-27 cycle. DU also states that candidates must appear in the CUET subjects in which they passed Class 12.
    Not established:Does not say History in Class 12 is needed; the merit list is built from CUET scores.
    • Delhi University says a Science-stream Class 12 student can apply for B.A. (Hons.) History
    • the student must appear in the subjects passed in Class 12, with no penalty for changing stream.
    Source: University of Delhi ↗
    Show scopeScope:DU 2026-27 FAQ, answer to a Science-stream applicant.
    Not established:
    • Not a statement about every B.A. programme; B.A. (Hons.)
    • Economics, for example, needs Mathematics in CUET.
    • B.A. (Hons.) Economics at Delhi University needs Mathematics in CUET (UG)
    • a candidate who skips Mathematics cannot take admission.
    Source: University of Delhi ↗
    Show scopeScope:DU 2026-27.
    Not established:Shows that some B.A. (Hons.) routes are not open to every Class 12 subject mix.
  • B.A. (Hons.) Journalism at Delhi University needs CUET in English from List A plus three List B subjects, or English plus General Aptitude Test.
    Source: University of Delhi ↗
    Show scopeScope:DU 2026-27.
    Not established:Does not state seats or fees.
  • Delhi University publishes no single B.A. fee; it says the fee differs by college.
    Source: University of Delhi ↗
    Show scopeScope:DU 2026-27.
    Not established:No B.A. fee amount at any DU college was read in this round.
  • Jamia Millia Islamia asks for Class 12 with not less than 50% marks in aggregate or in the subject concerned for B.A. (Hons.) English.
    Source: Jamia Millia Islamia ↗
    Show scopeScope:JMI 2026-27 prospectus. Entrance test date for B02 was 26 April 2026 (closed).
    Not established:JMI states different percentages for different programmes.
  • Jamia asks for Class 12 with not less than 50% marks in aggregate of best 5 papers for B.A. (Hons.) Sociology and Psychology.
    Source: Jamia Millia Islamia ↗
    Show scopeScope:JMI 2026-27 prospectus.
    Not established:No Class 12 stream is named in that line.
  • Jamia asks for Class 12 with not less than 50% marks in aggregate of best 5 papers or in the subject concerned for B.A. (Hons.) Economics.
    Source: Jamia Millia Islamia ↗
    Show scopeScope:JMI 2026-27 prospectus.
    Not established:Mathematics is not named in that line.
    • Jamia says it admits to its programmes on merit determined by an entrance test conducted by JMI
    • some B.A. (Hons.) language programmes are listed as admitted through CUET.
    Source: Jamia Millia Islamia ↗
    Show scopeScope:JMI 2026-27. The History entrance test was listed for 2 June 2026.
    Not established:Not every JMI B.A. programme uses the same test; the prospectus lists some under CUET.

The work and what comes next

1 sourced
What can come next
    • Delhi University describes B.A. (Hons.)
    • Economics as preparing students for careers in academia, law, management, journalism, government and other fields.
    Source: University of Delhi ↗
    Show scopeScope:Scoped to the cited page.

Sources and unanswered questions

  • NTA, Delhi University, Jamia Millia Islamia, TISS and MCU documents for the 2026 and 2026-27 cycles, checked on 31 October 2026 · India · the 2026 cycle is closed and no 2027 bulletin was out.
  • Source checking confirms only the scoped statements on this page, not anyone’s individual eligibility.
  • Confirm current requirements with the employer or programme.
  • CUET(UG) 2026 - Information Bulletin ↗National Testing Agency · accessed 25 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • CUET (UG) 2026 for admission session 2026-27.
    • The CUET (UG) information-bulletin page listed only the 2026 and 2025 bulletins on 25 Oct 2026; no 2027 bulletin.
    Not established:So the bulletin does not say BCA is covered by CUET (UG); only that universities use scores.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • University of Delhi: Bulletin of Information, Undergraduate Admissions 2026-27 ↗University of Delhi · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • University of Delhi 2026-27 UG admissions.
    • Cycle: UG admissions 2026-27 through CUET (UG) 2026.
    Not established:
    • It names CUET subjects, not Class XII subjects
    • the bulletin separately requires candidates to appear in the CUET subjects they studied in Class XII.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Undergraduate Admissions 2026-27 Updated Frequently Asked Questions ↗University of Delhi · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:University of Delhi undergraduate admissions 2026-27 (CSAS UG).
    Not established:
    • Does not apply to other universities
    • JMI, MCU and others use their own entrance tests or merit lists for some B.A. programmes.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Jamia Millia Islamia University Prospectus 2026-27 ↗Jamia Millia Islamia · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:JMI 2026-27 prospectus. Entrance test date for B02 was 26 April 2026 (closed).
    Not established:JMI states different percentages for different programmes.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • Fees | Admissions, TISS (Bachelor's programmes 2026-2030) ↗Tata Institute of Social Sciences · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:
    • TISS Tuljapur BASS 2026-2030 batch.
    • The Guwahati BASS table on the same page also prints 2,19,340.
    Not established:The table says the Institute can revise the fee structure.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
  • How To Apply, Admission Session 2026-27 ↗Makhanlal Chaturvedi National University of Journalism and Communication, Bhopal · accessed 31 Oct 2026
    Show scopeScope:MCU 2026-27, applications closed 10 July 2026.
    Not established:Not the programme fee.
    Checked by a person; not monitored automatically.
Your next step: Pick two programmes and read each university's current bulletin for the CUET subject combination, the fee and any extra test.